Journal

Why I Write

I’ve been in the search of various writerly type blogs. While searching, it is always interested to read about why each person has chosen to write or why they write what they do.

Writing is a strange activity. In many ways it is deeply personal. There is a motivation behind writing down a particular thought. In novel writing, each sentence is building the plot. Each one of those sentences, the author is choosing to write to portray something and continue the story. Sometimes the “why” behind the sentences are obvious or sometimes not. I often find myself looking for things in nearly every sentence and trying to figure out if it will be important later.

Poetry is often layered with numerous meanings. There can be something very literal happening, sometimes it is a metaphor or analogy of something bigger, sometimes it is a commentary on a social injustice, or anything else. It could be all of them, or just one.

Writing at it’s core allows us to express our emotions and feelings. Part of our soul is involved in what we write. But our motivation is what drives us to write.

I have always been an avid reader. I was the kid in class that hurried to finish up my assignment so I could crack open the book I brought to math class with me just in case I had some extra time. I even read between classes. In college, I probably read more than watched tv, I may have even read a novel in lieu of reading the text for class. Amidst all of this was a seed of wanting to write. It was cultivated in a couple of creative writing classes in high school and college. But it really didn’t grow roots until an event a couple of years ago.

I think my mother always wanted me to try to write. I don’t know if she really thought I would, or if she had a feeling that I would. Mother’s have unexplainable intuition at times. However, we always used to joke and say things like “When I get published…” A couple of years ago, my mother passed away. Since then, this desire to write has been growing. It has gone from being a single daily thought, to multiple thoughts, to creating storylines and characters in my head. It has now reached the point where I have been purchasing books and tools to help plan better. I’m getting better and writing daily as well.

Sometimes it isn’t enough to just say we want to do something. Sometimes it takes a harder shove to get us to cross the starting line so we can make our way to the finish line. I still wonder if this is the plan that God has set for me, but I have to trust the desires of my heart to Him, and try to follow the road signs that he puts in my path.

What is it that motivates you to write?

2 thoughts on “Why I Write

  1. great post, a really good question and I appreciated you sharing your story.

    As for me. I write because I like to entertain people. I was the class clown…well, still am technically. I always enjoyed reading and even tried writing at different times in my life, it was not until recently that I started to take it seriously. I just can’t wait to have a finished story that I can share with others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

