Journal

New Year Goals

Just before Christmas I posted a blog about SMART Goals. I told all of you that I would share some of my goals with you. It’s been a challenge to create these. There have been a few problems as I was trying to lay them out and such but I think I have them finalized enough to put them into motion.

The first thing that I did was brainstorm what I would like to accomplish this year–specifically where writing was concerned. Last year, I wrote a novella that has been sitting on a shelf, so I knew that needed some attention before I start looking for other people to read it and critique it. It is also the second in a series of three, but the first and third have not been written yet (you can find a bit about that here). I also have an outline for a novel planned. Give the rate that I normally write, I figured out a timeline that I could write out the projects that need to be written and then allotted time for my personal revisions and rewrite.

My personal writing projects schedule looks like this:

  • Complete Mail-Order Bride novel (80,000 words) by February 28, 2014
  • Create an outline for first novel/novella from trilogy by March 8, 2014
  • Complete first novel/novella (30,000 words) from trilogy by March 31, 2014
  • Create an outline for third novel/novella from trilogy by April 7, 2014
  • Complete third novel/novella (30,000 words) from trilogy by April 30, 2014
  • First revisions of Mail-Order Bride novel by May 15, 2014
  • First revisions of first novel/novella from trilogy by May 22, 2014
  • First revisions of second novel/novella from trilogy by May 29, 2014
  • First revisions of third novel/novella from trilogy by June 5, 2014

I’ve decided that beyond that, I’m really not sure what I want to accomplish. There will definitely be more writing and I plan to continue getting the works revised.

To keep with the SMART Goals, I wanted to be sure to give myself some solid goals, hence the word count minimums. A few of the dates over time might be modified a bit (I try to keep my weekends open–if I can squeeze writing in, great, but I don’t want to plan on it). But I have a plan that I can embark on for this coming year.

I also did the same plan for some personal goals (exercise) and household goals (since I have a lot of projects I want to get done this year).

It is difficult to plan things for a year. However, it is exciting to see what you could potentially accomplish, and for me, this is huge. I thrive on excitement like that. I need to feel excited to accomplish things (well, not really, but it sure helps!).  Creating these goals for the year have helped me to be determined that I can get done all that I set out to do and I hope these goals will help me reign in my overly ambitious self.

Also, to mix things up next week, I am planning on doing a series of posts on building characters. you can expect about a post a day to see how I develop the characters for my own pieces. I hope you will find them helpful!

Leave a Reply

