Journal

Building Characters From The Ground Up- Part 4

Well, only one more character building post after this one. If you’ve been following along, you’ve given your character some personality tests and written their history and background.

Now it is time to look at those pieces in the overall view of the plot. This is the point where I like to really think about my character arc and what kind of journey I want her to go on.

My story falls into a few different genres: Historical, Inspirational, and Romance. One of those mainly just affects the setting, but the other two do give my story a bit more direction. There needs to be a love interest, and his name is Andrew Hallin, but to be honest, he’s mainly there for the plot. The inspirational genre gives me a bit more reason to think about my character arc. If you read the background information yesterday, I didn’t write much about any religious beliefs that Margit Lindner may have grown up with. Well, to be frank, she didn’t grow up with much. But through the course of the novel, she is going to become quite broken, and God’s healing will turn her into a new person. This is the inner journey that she is going on.

So far, I haven’t said much about the plot of the story, and I am being vague about it on purpose. It is in it’s infancy and someday I will share more details about it. But here is a very unpolished gist:

Margit is going to tangle herself up in a lot of lies (mainly impersonating someone else and all that entails). Most of these lies will, unknowingly (through most of the novel) affect Andrew Hallin’s view of her. She will, since it is a romance, fall in love with Andrew, but because of her lies, her honesty might cost her. In the midst of all this, Margit’s father will show up, and it turns out he is a con artist. Eventually, Margit’s life will crumble, and there is only one way for her to start to make things right, and that is relying on God, because, a miracle is what it is going to take.

So, I need to make sure that my plot is aligned with Margit’s character arc and the scenes that I have demonstrate the changes that are taking place.

Leave a Reply

