Book Review

Review: A Broken Kind of Beautiful by Katie Ganshert

Few novels really play with my emotions (same for movies) beyond getting me to smile or laugh. This novel nearly brought me to tears. A Broken Kind of Beautiful by Katie Ganshert is a powerful novel. The back cover description doesn’t even do it justice. To sum it up, the novel is about a model, Ivy Clark. For the majority of her life, people only care about her outward appearance. But getting closer to the age of 25, her career no longer wants her. So, she is forced to take part in a modelling opportunity for her stepmother’s bridal line in hopes of one last chance at holding onto a career. The photographer she works with, Davis Knight, is far different from any man she has ever been around. He seems able to see who she really is inside, and challenges her.

One thing that is usually a deciding factor for me on whether I really enjoy novels are the characters. The population of this novel is extremely rich. Even minor characters are pretty well developed, to the point where the reader can see some of the internal battles that they are struggling with.

While few people who read this book would be able to relate to Ivy, (how many of us reading it have modeled or have even experienced that world?) but the way I felt connected to her, could feel her hurts as if they were my own really pulled me into the story. My own hurts felt similar and the message of the book was one that I needed to hear. And the character of Davis… He was also extremely relatable. I think at some point, many of us hold onto guilt the same way he does.

Beyond the characters, Katie Ganshert’s writing flowed. Her use of details dropped me into the scenes so easily, it was easy to imagine every little thing she pointed out. I haven’t read either of her previous novels, but they might have to make it on my list of books to read. I know I will be looking out for novels written by her in the future.

For more information on this novel or the author, you can check out the following links:

Blogging for Books provided this book to me for free in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

