Book Review

Review: The Homesick Texan’s Family Table by Lisa Fain

As I have mentioned in a previous post, I enjoy reading a few nonfiction books. Primarily those about marriage. However, one type of nonfiction book that I do have a strong pull towards, are cookbooks. This one in particular looked quite intriguing to me and well, I couldn’t resist.

**********

As a writer, the senses are the fastest ways to help evoke an emotional response in a reader. It is easy to recognize certain smells, and hopefully if they are the good ones, we have a positive reaction to them. For example, chocolate chip cookies or the cologne or perfume your significant other wears. I think taste is just as strong of a sense as smell. My mom passed away three years ago, and I can still imagine the taste of her homemade apple pie or vegetable beef soup. The Homesick Texan’s Family Table by Lisa Fain is a journey into Lisa’s life of growing up in Texas and creating her favorite dishes in her new home in New York.

When I first started looking through this book, I had to put it down and grab some sticky notes to start marking pages. If the photos in the book didn’t have my stomach growling, some of the stories behind the dishes and why they were important to the author made me want to try them as well. Lisa’s vignettes for each recipe makes the dish special. It gets beyond just tasting good. The book is a demonstration that food is about more than just tasting good, but about the people you can enjoy it with (although no one is going to complain about tasty food).

As for the recipes themselves, I can’t wait to start trying some out (a few recipes had me thinking through what I had in my pantry to see if I could make it). Lisa also includes a myriad of helpful tips through her book, and in her introduction she explains how tiny her kitchen is and what tools she believes are absolute necessities. This means that just about everyone can use this cookbook with things they probably already have in their kitchen (or only need to get a thing or two beyond ingredients).

She covers some basics about the peppers that she favors in the book, as well as tips on making your own dried chilies or chili powder. Since we planted some peppers in our garden this year, I have every intention of trying this. She also gives some helpful suggestions about food storage for certain things and ends with some accompaniment/condiment recipes that are good for canning.

As someone who can be a bit of a picky eater, I found dozens of recipes in this book that I am excited to try. Then again, I do love about any recipe with cheese and peppers, a couple of staples in this book. So, if you love Mexican or Tex-Mex type foods, I would suggest you get this book right away. I don’t think you will be disappointed.

To find out more about this book or the author, please visit the following links:

**I received this book for free from Blogging For Books for this review.**

Leave a Reply

