Book Review

Review: Truth Be Told by Carol Cox

Truth Be Told by Carol Cox was a wonderful read filled with mystery, truth, and a bit of romance.

From Amazon: 

Sometimes the truth can be dangerous… 

When Amelia Wagner takes over her father’s newspaper in 1893 Granite Springs, Arizona, she vows to carry on the paper’s commitment to reporting only the truth. But Amelia soon learns that even the truth can have serious consequences. Her father’s revealing articles about the Great Western Investment Company have caught the attention of the wrong people, and pressure mounts for Amelia to retract her father’s statements.

Determined to find out the real story, Amelia begins her own investigation. She’s joined by Benjamin Stone, a Great Western employee who’s been assigned to keep tabs on her for the good of the company, a man Amelia finds both perplexing and intriguing.

What they uncover stuns them both–and has far-reaching implications for not only Ben and Amelia but all of Granite Springs. Can they reveal the truth before the enemy finds a way to silence them for good?

I wasn’t sure what to think about this book at first. I was frustrated at it’s seemingly slow pace. However, after finishing the novel, I think the slow pace was appropriate. The novel builds as the characters learn more about the Great Western Investment Company and as the mystery starts to unravel. If things had picked up too fast, I think it would have been a hard novel to follow.

For a main character, Amelia did lack some depth. I don’t feel like her character really went through much of a transformation. Same with the books hero, Ben, although the things that we learn about him make it appear that way. I tend to prefer character driven stories a bit more than the plot driven, so there is a bit of bias on my thoughts here.

I found the book to be a fast read. I wasn’t overly disappointed in it, but I’m not sure that it will be as memorable to me as Carol Cox’s other books. I would recommend it if someone was looking for a light read that they could get through quickly.

 

For more about the author or this book, please visit the following links:

**I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.**

Leave a Reply

