Book Review · Books on Writing · Journal · Resources

So Long, June!

Well, it is the final day of the month of June. I’ve decided to start something new on my blog: Summarizing the book reviews I have done over the month, gush about my favorites, mention my writing milestones, and look to the next month. In the future, I might start hosting some giveaways at this point as well.

Here is the line-up of books I have reviewed over this past month (click on the link to be directed to my review of the book):

Full Steam Ahead by Karen Witemeyer
The Heart’s Pursuit by Robin Lee Hatcher
Four Weddings and A Kiss
A Broken Kind of Beautiful by Katie Ganshert
While Love Stirs by Lorna Seilstad
Fair Play by Deeanne Gist
Appalachian Serenade by Sarah Loudin Thomas
A Place In His Heart by Rebecca DeMarino
The Pelican Bride by Beth White
The Homesick Texan’s Family Table by Lisa Fain
Truth Be Told by Carol Cox
With Every Breath by Elizabeth Camden

My favorite book of the month is a hard one to decide on. Full Steam Ahead and With Every Breath were both wonderful reads. Karen Witemeyer and Elizabeth Camden are among my favorite authors, and both of these books exceeded my expectations. The stories and settings were unique and the characters were hard to say goodbye to at the end. I would recommend them in a heartbeat.

However, A Broken Kind of Beautiful was a surprising read for me.
As you can probably tell by mylist, I don’t read a lot of contemporary fiction. It isn’t that I don’t like it, I just prefer historical fiction. But that novel really stands out to me as well, and Katie Ganshert is now an author I will probably be watching for future books from.

I also feel that I should draw some additional attention to Appalachian Serenade by Sarah Loudin Thomas. Thomas is a debut author and this short story was well-written. The short story is actually a prequel to her debut novel, Miracle in a Dry Season that I am hoping to review in July. The ebook novella is still free on Amazon, so I would suggest picking up a copy.

The list of books I have lined up to review or plan to review in July is already growing quickly.

July Line-Up: I’m waiting on a handful of books that I’ve already requested to review. Among them is Miracle in a Dry Season as I just mentioned. Other books include Love Comes Home by Ann Gabhart, Jody Hedlund’s Captured by LoveThe Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton, The Butterfly and The Violin by Kristy Cambron. I also may be reviewing some books by Marcia Clark in her Rachel Knight series. I do enjoy reading a good suspenseful mystery, and it has been awhile since I’ve read one. So I actually am looking forward to those. I’m sure there are a few other books that will grace the pages of my blog this month as well.

Also, feel free to check out my GoodReads site if you are interested in seeing what books I am working on reading. I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. 

Writing: On a more personal level, I have spent precious little time on the writing front. But July is a new month, and hopefully life around here will calm down a bit and I can spend some time getting some ink on pages. I recently received a copy of Stephen King’s On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft. To be honest, I got it yesterday, and I haven’t put it down for very long. I am really enjoying the book. I have a bare bones outline for the direction of a novel to go. I also have a finished novella/novel (supposed to have been a novel, but ended up as a novella in length) that needs to be taken off the shelf. I think that needs a bit more attention while I work on tweaking and further developing my outline for the other story.

Well, that sums up the month of June for me.

What about you? What is the best book you read this past month or are looking most forward to reading? 

2 thoughts on “So Long, June!

  1. Wow! What a list. I’m a big Elizabeth Camden fan, too. Against the Tide is one of my all-time favorites. I’m at the beginning of Jen Turano’s A Match of Wits. It’s THE book in the series I’ve been waiting for–Agatha and Zayne’s story.

    Like

    1. I did really like Against the Tide as well. I think I tried Jen Turano’s series at one point but couldn’t get into them. Why, I can’t remember. Maybe I’ll have to give them a try again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

