Journal

Review: Love Comes Home by Ann H. Gabhart

From the back cover: 

When the flush of victory fades, there remains a winding road to an uncertain future. World War II is finally over and the people of Rosey Corner are joyfully welcoming the boys home. The Merritt sisters in particular are looking toward the future. Kate is eager to start a family and live out her dream of happily ever after with Jay. Evangeline craves a beautiful house and encourages Mike to pastor a big-town church. Victoria wants what can never be. And Lorena is growing up and wondering more and more about her birth family.

Each sister must learn to hold her plans with a loose hand, trusting that God will guide and strengthen them as they share the joys and sorrows of life in their little corner of the world.

When I initially started reading Love Comes Home by Ann H. Garbhart, I was a bit hard pressed to want to continue. I have to confess, I haven’t yet read the first two books of this series. That may have been part of my struggle in really getting into it, but after reading it, I think I only missed out on getting to know a bit of backstory and learning more about the character’s personalities. The book itself isn’t one that I would typically enjoy or necessarily list as a favorite.

The pacing is a bit slow, and the story a bit sentimental. However, the book speaks about life and handling the joys and sorrows that come with it. There were moments that I really felt for the hardships the characters were facing–perhaps more than I felt like celebrating with them. For much of the book, I felt like I was looking through a photo album of black and white or sepia prints, listening to someone tell stories and anecdotes about the people in the novel. Gabhart uses flashbacks frequently to tell the story, something that I don’t come across too often in novels. She slides into them flawlessly, and brings you right back to the present. A technique she accomplishes quite well.

Like I said, the book is stylistically different than a number of books I would pick up, but overall, I did enjoy it. I won’t shy away from future books by Gabhart, and I might even pick up the previous two novels in the Rosey Corner series: Angel Sister and Small Town Girl.

For more information about Ann H. Gabhart or this book, please visit the following links:

**The book was provided to me by Revell in exchange for my honest review.**

Leave a Reply

