Journal

Review: Traces of Mercy by Michael Landon, Jr. and Cindy Kelley

As a kid, I loved watching Little House on the Prairie. As a I got older, I still enjoyed it. Even now I like watching reruns. There is something that resonates in that show. Michael Landon will always be remembered in a large part because of Charles Ingalls. 

Landon’s son has obviously followed in his father’s footsteps. His involvement with projects including the Hallmark Channel’s Love Comes Softly movie is reminiscent of Little House. So when I saw a book that Michael Landon, Jr. co-wrote, I was quite intrigued.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From the back cover: 

From Michael Landon Jr. and Cindy Kelley, authors of The Silent Gift and creators of the hit television film Love Comes Softly, comes an exciting historical romance set in post-Civil War, and filled with suspense and faith-building values.
 
At the war’s end, a young woman suffers an accident that leaves her unconscious and alone. Waking with amnesia, she takes the name Mercy and wants more than anything to find out the truth of her past. But then a handsome stranger arrives, who may hold the key to everything she has forgotten. What he knows could devastate her future, and even end her life.
 
Written by two proven storytellers, Traces of Mercy is perfect for anyone who loves historical fiction, prairie-based tales, or just a good romance.

I have to admit first of all, that when I started reading this book, I didn’t know what to think. The writing just wasn’t quite doing it for me, but I was determined to finish the book, and I’m glad I did! The premise of a woman who dressed as a man to be a confederate soldier is intriguing on it’s own. But add in the events that follow and it becomes downright mysterious.

The romance aspect of this novel is definitely in the background but it let’s the problems that Mercy faces shine. There is also enough mystery to keep the reader guessing to the end of the book. While I wish some of the characters would have been a little bit more developed (and I hope they will be in the second book of the series) the plot did keep the story moving. There were a number of twists in the story that I could not have predicted, and I’ll warn you that they lead up to a cliffhanger at the end. I’m already anxiously awaiting the next story that comes out in October, I believe.

I would recommend this book to those who like a good puzzle in their books, because this book hints at just enough to start raising suspicion, but not enough to offer conclusions. I guess the next book will let us in on a bit more of the story surrounding the main character, Mercy.

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from David C. Cook and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Traces of Mercy by Michael Landon, Jr. and Cindy Kelley

    1. I had randomly come across it at one point, and was quite intrigued with Michael Landon, Jr.’s name on the cover. When I saw a chance to review it, I had to jump on it! Now if only the sequel would hurry up and become available…

      Like

  1. I’m so excited! I actually found this book for free the day after I read your review. I snatched it up of course. I’ll eventually get to it. You seem to go through much faster than I can!

    Like

    1. Yeah, if I could get paid to read I would probably make a fortune! I usually got through a regular length novel in a day or two depending on how many other things are going on. I’m so glad you found a copy of this book! It’s a bit different at first but it’s worth sticking with and I predict it will be a really good series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

