Journal

Review: The Descendent of Destiny by Marion Hill

When I finish a novel that I am ready to share with the world, I’ve always planned to try out the traditional publishing route. If that doesn’t work, then maybe I’ll consider self-publishing. The main reason for this is that I like the idea of giving over some of those decisions to a professional. I have a lot of respect for those who go for the self-publishing route. In my mind, it is a road that is riddled with challenges, but for the person determined to do it, I’m sure those challenges yield a lot of satisfaction.

For that reason, a few weeks ago, I decided to really open up my blog to reviewing novels with authors who have chosen to self-publish. Many authors have their reasons for deciding that route, and like I said I have a lot of respect for them. I imagine one of the toughest aspects is to spread word about your novel and raise excitement. Book review blogs are probably one of the best ways to spread that awareness. If you are interested in having me review your book, take some time to look at my review policy and contact me.

 While it isn’t the first self-published book I have read, The Descendent of Destiny by Marion Hill is the first one I am reviewing for my blog. The genre is outside of my typical reading material, but I’m generally open to reading anything. I hope that you will take the time to look into this book. At the bottom of my post are links to connect with the author as well as a link to this book on Amazon.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From the back cover: 

What is Destiny?

Is destiny something to be shaped by your own hands? Is destiny something to be shaped by other people? Or is there a higher power that ultimately shapes our destiny?

This is the journey that Diondray Azur of Charlesville will discover when he finds out the existence of a book called The Book of Kammbi. The book reveals an ancient prophecy that needs to be fulfilled by a descendant of Oscar Ortega, one of the land of Kammbia’s greatest men. All signs point to Diondray being the one who will fulfill this prophecy. However, he does not believe in the prophecy and thus begins the journey towards his destiny.

When I first started reading The Descendent of Destiny I wasn’t quite sure what to think. The book is listed as a fantasy, but it wasn’t fitting the molds that I had in my mind about fantasy. While there aren’t dragons or mythological creatures, it does have a prophecy that makes up the backbone of the story. The prophecy is reminiscent of religious backgrounds and stories. I struggle to say that it is fully based around Christianity, because while I definitely saw some parallels, there were a number of differences.

There were a couple of things that created problems for me in really getting involved in the story. The first were the characters. Characters are a big deal for me in novels. I like to really connect with them. I want them to have depth, flaws, and passions. Diondray Azur, the main character, felt very difficult to get to know. Some of this may have to do with the length of the novel and the amount that took place. A number of events and a lot of information/backstory was provided throughout the 104 pages of this book. Given that there wasn’t much time to get to know the main character, a lot of the secondary characters also came across as quite superficial.

The second struggle for me, was that there was quite a bit of unfamiliar terminology. I found that I had to reread things to grasp what they were. Some of these were simple things such as alternate names for months and such. Others were names for pieces of clothing or buildings. On my part, it lead to the occasional confusion.

The Descendent of Destiny also had some standout moments as well. It is quite evident that Marion Hill put a lot of thought into the prophecy that sets the story in motion and how that prophecy relates to the society in which the story takes place. Creating the terms and religious beliefs of the people in the novel is also quite impressive.

The book has a philosophical depth that will make the reader think. Diondray often gives short speeches or writes down thoughts of questions that are relevant not only to him as a character in this story, but questions that should be important to the reader as well.

While I wouldn’t consider The Descendent of Destiny a fast read or a book for mere entertainment, it was in fact a thought-provoking story.

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review**

 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Descendent of Destiny by Marion Hill

  1. I love this post for several reasons. I love that you’re opening up to self published authors. I hope to make it to your reading list 😉
    I love your thoughts on self publishing verses publishing companies. I was mostly impressed because I feel exactly the opposite. Lol I literally chose self publishing so I could stay in control. And you were right, there are TONS of challenges and they typically end with great satisfaction. You also had me in tears with your words of respect and encouragement for the self published author. I had always felt self publishing wasn’t as respected as the publishing house author. I remember even feeling embarrassed and felt that I needed a disclaimer or something. I’m grateful God changed my mind about myself. He was quick to remind me that I am every bit of an author, same as each of them. I struggle to put words to a page, just as they do. I go through the same seasons of worry, stress, and excitement they do. I’m not self publishing because I’m not good enough, but because I choose to. And you were dead on accurate when you guessed the hardest problem is promoting your book!! Tis the season I find myself in 🙂
    Anyways… As always, I appreciate your honest reviews. I love how you found something to praise while being honest about the flaws you encountered.

    Like

Leave a Reply

