Journal

Joy Cometh in the Morning

Psalm 30 has been on my mind a lot lately. Perhaps because I feel like a season of my life is over. Maybe it is because God is planning something big for me that is just over the horizon. Whatever the reason, the words of this particular song has been echoing in my heart.

It’s been just over 3 years since my Mom passed away. While I miss her greatly, and always will, I have reached a point where more often than not, the memories evoke a smile or laughter rather than a tear. So in my personal life, I feel as though I am reaching the end of a darker period, and sunshine is lighting most of my days now.

This Psalm really came to mind for me the other night. For whatever reason, it seems like the best ideas come in the period when I’m laying down to fall asleep. I’m comfortable and relaxed and my mind is just drifting. Unfortunately, that sometimes means I don’t want to move or get up to jot down whatever wonderful idea crossed my mind. This is when one line from the Psalm just took hold of my mind, “Joy comes in the morning.”

The line seems to fit the story I want to write. The main character is going to be extremely broken, and then more hardship will probably come. The main character is based on my grandmother. While she died before I met her, I grew up hearing stories. The stories gave me a glimpse at a woman who I imagine had a very hard life. The stories also showed me that she possessed a strength to get through it, and once through, she found joy in life. In some way, I have always wanted to tell me grandmother’s story. If it gets finished, and I hope it does, it probably won’t capture who my grandmother truly was. Those who knew her probably won’t recognize her within the pages.

It is so important to remember that we will have struggles in this life. Troubles will beat us down. Death will leave us mourning. If we lose sight of God, we will feel lost. But it is also important to remember that God is drawing us closer to him. And when we follow Him, follow His will, His direction, there will be happiness again.

“Sing praises to the Lord, O you his saints,
    and give thanks to his holy name.
For his anger is but for a moment,
    and his favor is for a lifetime.
Weeping may tarry for the night,
    but joy comes with the morning.”

Leave a Reply

