Book Review

Review: A Prelude for a Lord by Camille Elliot

When I write the reviews for books, one of the parts I both hate and love is researching for the links I include at the end of my posts. Sometimes, I just want to get the review written and just try to get through them as quickly as possible. Other times, I enjoy clicking around on the other’s website or looking at the timeline on their facebook page. Twitter and GoodReads are what I spend the least amount of time on.

For this book, I initially only found links to the book on Amazon and the author’s GoodReads page. At GoodReads, I discovered that Camille Elliot is a pen name for author Camy Tang- who typically writes for Love Inspired Suspense series. At this point, I have not read much by Camy Tang, only a short story. I enjoyed the short story and I enjoyed this novel, but I’m surprised at how different the two books read. Granted, neither had too much in common other than sharing the same author and involving some mystery. But if not for searching for those links, I would have never guessed.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From the back cover: 

An unconventional young woman. A haunted young man. A forbidden instrument. Can the love of music bring them together . . . or will it tear them apart?

Bath, England—1810

At twenty-eight, Alethea Sutherton is past her prime for courtship; but social mores have never been her forté. She might be a lady, but she is first and foremost a musician.

In Regency England, however, the violin is considered an inappropriate instrument for a lady. Ostracized by society for her passion, Alethea practices in secret and waits for her chance to flee to the Continent, where she can play without scandal. 

But when a thief’s interest in her violin endangers her and her family, Alethea is determined to discover the enigmatic origins of her instrument . . . with the help of the dark, brooding Lord Dommick.

Scarred by war, Dommick finds solace only in playing his violin. He is persuaded to help Alethea, and discovers an entirely new yearning in his soul. 

Alethea finds her reluctant heart drawn to Dommick in the sweetest of duets . . . just as the thief’s desperation builds to a tragic crescendo . . .

Every once in awhile, I come across a novel that after I finish, I wish I could pick it up for the first time again. This was one of those books. If I could start it over with a fresh mind for the second time, I would want to read it much slower, to savor the wonderful descriptions, enjoy the relationships between characters, and puzzle through the mystery contained in it’s pages.

Prelude for a Lord was a wonderful step into regency England. Alethea is a wonderful main character with her fierce independence in a world where that isn’t acceptable for a woman. Then there is Dommick, who just wants to escape rumours so his mother can enjoy society again and his sister can have a successful season.

The story is a page-turner with a mystery surrounding Alethea’s violin. As I read it, I kept trying to guess what the value was to the violin and who was after it. I think the characters managed to stay a step ahead of me the whole time, since every piece that came together was a surprise.

I also have to mention that I think the cover of this novel is beautiful. It definitely drew my attention to the book, and after reading it, I think it captures the essence of the story quite well.

I think this is a novel that has something for everyone. Those who enjoy romance will enjoy the relationship between the main characters. If you enjoy the Regency era, well there is a lot to take in with this story. If a mystery is what you are after, there is one within the pages that drives the story forward. If you are like me and enjoy all three of those things, well, this is a book you should plan to read.

You Can get your copy of this wonderful book August 5, 2014

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review**

 

5 thoughts on “Review: A Prelude for a Lord by Camille Elliot

    1. You should probably read this book ASAP! It was amazingly good. If I didn’t have a number of new books already waiting for me to read I’d be sorely tempted to read it again.

      Like

  1. Thanks so much for the review, D.L.! I’m so glad you enjoyed my debut Regency! I admit I was worried because while I have loved Regency romance for a long time, I was afraid to write it for fear of getting it wrong, and because I’ve written only contemporary stories up until now. Thanks!

    Also, I apologize about how hard it was to find me online–I was hoping to have my CamilleElliot.com website up by now, but ran into delays. It will hopefully be up soon. Thanks!

    Camy/Camille

    Like

    1. I loved this book and I hope there might be other regency novels from Camille Elliot in the future 😉

      I will keep a look out for CamilleElliot.com and update my links then. The search wasn’t too bad. GoodReads helped me figure it out pretty quick. Thanks so much for stopping by!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

