Book Review

Review: A Bouquet of Love by Janice Thompson

When my husband married me, he gained a decent sized movie collection-probably a good portion of which are movies he never thought he would own. I love chick-flicks, but I also am quite fond of many of the classic musicals. I adore Seven Brides for Seven Brothers and love Singing in the Rain. The Pirate is a gem in my eyes that contain to of my favorite stars, Gene Kelly and Judy Garland. 

While it isn’t mentioned on the back cover, Cassia’s love of all things Judy Garland completely won me over to this book. Especially the references to Meet Me in St. Louis, which happens to be one of my favorites. Another thing I loved in this book, it completely reminded me of one of my favorite chick-flicks: My Big Fat Greek Wedding (it is even referenced in the book). If you adore that movie, I’m sure you will enjoy this book!

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From the back cover: 

She didn’t expect to fall in love–but roses aren’t the only thing blooming on Galveston Island.

Cassia Pappas has found herself in a nearly impossible situation. She wants to spend her time immersed in her new job at a Galveston Island floral shop, arranging blooms and brightening occasions with her lovely creations. But her boisterous Greek family–especially her father–has other ideas. They’ve all relocated to Galveston to open up a new family restaurant located on the Strand–directly across the street from iconic pizza place Parma John’s–and they want Cassia’s full participation.

To make matters worse, as Cassia is trying to develop a strong professional relationship with Galveston’s premier wedding coordinator, Bella Neeley, her own father is intent on stealing all of the Rossi family’s faithful customers. Not exactly the best way to get into this former Rossi’s good graces!

Still, at least Alex, that hot delivery guy from the nursery, is always hanging around the flower shop . . .

This book is quite a bit different than what I typically read. In many ways it caught me off guard. From the back cover, I was expecting a pretty straightforward storyline and a bit of romance. What I read, was a complex novel commenting on family and what that means, what it means to be a neighbor, a lovely romance, a witty narrator, Judy Garland songs, and some laughs.

If I had to define the perfect summer read, I don’t think I could pick a better book. The characters in this novel are vibrant and the setting is picturesque. Descriptions of the food from the restaurants had me believing that I could smell the food (and I’ve never been in a Greek restaurant!).

I have not read the other books in the series (and I could probably guess which characters have had books) but I don’t feel like I was missing anything. This book can obviously be read as a standalone, although I think the other Weddings by Design books might be making it on my list of books to read.

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from Revell and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**

 

2 thoughts on “Review: A Bouquet of Love by Janice Thompson

Leave a Reply

