Book Review · Journal

Goodbye, July!

July is one of my favorite months. I love the Independence Day type celebrations (plus I’m a July baby). The weather is usually perfect for just about anything you want to do outside- which means it is a great time to read in the sunshine. Over the past month I’ve enjoyed books on the beach and at home in my lounge chair on the deck. The perfect kind of day in my opinion.

I’ve read a lot of books this month. I fear that all I did was read. But that’s not really a terrible problem, is it? So, here is a collection of all of the books I reviewed this month. They are linked to my review posts if you are curious about my thoughts on a particular book.

That is quite a list! Anytime we pick up a book, we are giving that author our permission to take some of our time to tell us a story. Thankfully, I loved nearly all of these books, but naturally there are a few that stand out to me.

The Butterfly and the Violin is definitely a standout novel of the books I read this month. The cover is nearly as beautiful as the writing and the story between the covers. If you haven’t made plans to read it yet, I would highly recommend it!

A few of my other favorites were pretty easy to decide on. Captured by Love by Jody Hedlund is another great story. The twists fd29d-tpotl_finalcover325and turns in this novel kept me interested. A second page turner was The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton. Both these novels had wonderful main characters and captured some interesting bits of history in their settings as well. Prelude for a Lord by Camille Elliot was a novel I wish I could read for the first time again. It was a beautifully written story that kept me guessing as to the mystery behind a violin.

While I didn’t enjoy all the books as much as others, I did venture outside of my typical reading norms. I started reading the Year of Weddings Novella collection which are all contemporary short stories, along with Sincerely Yours and Sealed With a Kiss (predominantly contemporary romance short story collections). I also read my first Biblical Fiction novel, In the Field of Grace by Tessa Afshar, and thought pretty highly of it. I’ll probably be trying to pick up some books by Tessa Afshare in the future. I also dived into fantasy with Amity of Angelmen by T.C. Slonaker. Again, if any of the books interest you above,
please check out my reviews.

August Line-Up: August is already looking like a busy reading month. You can expect reviews for In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin (another of my favorite authors) and Sarah Loudin Thomas’s debut novel, Miracle in a Dry Season. I’ve been pretty excited to read both of these books! If you are curious what other book reviews I have planned coming up, click on 2014 Book Reviews in the menu at the top of this page. There you can see all the reviews I have done over the past year and what books are coming soon.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site if you are interested in seeing what books I am working on reading. I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I don’t tweet a lot but you will see when I post a new blog and I do tweet about other giveaways for books that I find online. Either way, I would love to connect with you. If you are an author with a book you would like me to review, head over to my Review Policy and contact me through there, I really would love to hear from you!

Writing: Getting into the routine of writing is getting to be a challenge, but it has been on my mind so much more. I’m currently working on revising and polishing a novella a wrote nearly a year ago. It’s been on the shelf long enough and I figured it was time to dust it off and see what is there. Due to some encouragement I have received and plenty of inspiring ideas, I’ve started creating the skeleton of a novel idea I’ve had in my head for quite some time. The idea stems from a small handful of events in my grandmother’s life and will have to do with Michigan’s logging history, and of course there will be a romance story to it as well.

What are some of your favorite books you read this past month? What books are you most looking forward to? Do you have any writing projects you are excited about?

Leave a Reply

