Journal

Review: Picture Perfect by Janice Thompson

One of the great things about having a review blog is how often I’ve been branching out to try new authors. Just a few days ago, I finished and reviewed the first book I read by Janice Thompson. I quickly fell in love with her fun and quirky style of storytelling.

Janice Thompson’s Wedding by Design series contains books with characters who have wedding related professions. In Bouquet of Love, Cassia is a florist. In this novel, Picture Perfect, Hannah is a photographer. All of the books take place on Galveston Island in Texas, which means that characters from the books keep popping back up. 

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From Amazon: 

Feisty wedding photographer Hannah McDermott has dealt with her share of difficult brides. But none can compare to the ultimate Bridezilla she’s dealing with now. Still, she’s trying desperately to impress Bella Neeley, Galveston Island’s most sought-after wedding planner, so she can take the top spot in Bella’s list of recommended photographers–a spot currently occupied by her arch-rival, Drew Kincaid. What she doesn’t count on, however, is falling head over heels for the competition.

With her contagious humor and cast of quirky characters, Janice Thompson gives readers more of the bridal business drama they want in a brand-new series all about those long-suffering people who make beautiful weddings happen. Readers are desperately waiting for more of Bella and this new series brings her back in a big way, while introducing new characters fans will love. Fans will laugh out loud as they experience this breezy and entertaining novel from a great storyteller.

I adored reading the first book of this series. As I mentioned above, I started with Janice Thompson’s first novel. While there were a number of characters who were also in this one, I was still able to just jump in.

The thing that I found most noticeable about this particular novel, was how fascinating Janice Thompson made the everyday. The characters and situations in this novel felt so normal. But that didn’t make the novel boring. It made it quite relatable.  The story didn’t need a big adventure or anything to make you want to keep turning pages. For me, I kept reading because it was as if the characters were becoming good friends of mine and I cared about what happened to them.

This was a wonderfully fun novel, and even better is that it is currently free for Kindle on Amazon. From my experience so far, each novel in this series can be read as a standalone. I continue to look forward to reading more of this series in the future.

I would love to hear from you! What novel series have you recently discovered and quickly fell in love with?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I purchased this book from Amazon and am not being compensated for this review. The opinions are my own**

 

5 thoughts on “Review: Picture Perfect by Janice Thompson

    1. I really don’t think so. There are characters that seem to pop up multiple times, but each story usually is introducing a new character.

      From looking at the synopses on earlier series by Janice Thompson, I think they are based around other characters that exist. But they make “guest appearances” or are more on the sidelines of the story. I don’t think they have to be read in any other particular order. I sure haven’t read them in order. I read book 4 of the Wedding by Design series before reading this one, which is book 1, and followed the story perfectly fine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

