Book Review

Review: Stars in the Night by Cara C. Putman

Sometimes, I think the best page turners are mysteries. I often find myself flying through them, and probably missing important clues, trying to figure out who did it or why they did it. Mysteries have always been a favorite of mine. I couldn’t read Nancy Drew books fast enough as a kid (and perhaps as a teenager as well). For awhile, I didn’t read too many mysteries until my mom introduced me to Mary Higgins Clark (which if you have never read one of her books, you should probably go get one now- I have never been able to figure out the “who did it” part of her books unless she tells us up front).

I don’t read mysteries quite as much as I used to. I guess I’ve fallen in love with the romance genre. But once in awhile, I do read one. Stars in the Night was a book that kept me guessing.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

Don’t forget to enter for a chance to win Through Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer. This is a wonderful book. Click on the book cover for more details.Contest is open until Aug. 20.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From Amazon: Hollywood 1942. When attorney Audra Schaeffer’s sister disappears, Audra flies to Hollywood to find her—but must identify her body instead. Determined to bring the killer to justice, Audra takes a job with the second Hollywood Victory Caravan. Together with Robert Garfield and other stars, she crisscrosses the southern United States in a campaign to sell war bonds. When two other women are found dead on the train, Audra knows the deaths are tied to her sister’s. Could the killer be the man with whom she’s falling in love?

I’ve always loved watching older films and this novel takes us into Hollywood history while WWII was going on overseas. For today’s views on Hollywood, it is hard to imagine even some of the second tier actors/actresses going on some sort of fundraising campaign. But Cara C. Putman brings the events to love. From everything to the flirtatious personalities of some of the stars to some of their own insecurities.

Audra is an interesting character. She is immediately repulsed by Hollywood and well, everything it represents. But deep down, she is driven to find the answers about her sister’s death, so she tries to look beneath the facade.

While the book isn’t as intense as some other mysteries, it is one that picks up quickly and you will want to finish. I found Audra and Robert both quite likeable, and even enjoyed some of the other stars. While I think I had started to unravel some of the mystery a bit before the characters did, I struggled with figuring out the motive to completely convince me. But you will have to pick the book up yourself to see if you can figure it out.

I would love to hear from you! What is your favorite part about reading books that have a mystery?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**This is a book that I personally bought. The opinions expressed are my own.**

 

Leave a Reply

