Book Review

Review: In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin

Every now and again, I pick up a book that isn’t one I would typically select. Sometimes the cover intrigues me and other times it is the opportunity to try something new. Authors who make me fall in love with these ventures into the unknown quickly become listed among my favorites. Sarah Sundin is one of these authors.

I’ve always enjoyed historical fiction, but anything after the Civil War doesn’t usually capture my attention. A couple of years ago, I decided to give Sarah Sundin’s novel, A Distant Melody a try. I was blown away. I loved the characters and my heart raced when things didn’t look good, not to mention devastated to see I only had a few pages left in a book. But what stands out the most to me, was Sundin’s ability to portray the WWII aircrafts in such a way that I could imagine them and feel that I was even flying with the characters in them (and I honestly don’t have a clue about aircrafts!). I quickly read the other two books in the series, and then patiently awaited the next series–and read the first two, and was then forced to wait again for the third book, In Perfect Time.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From the Back Cover: 

Tho hearts are about to learn the rhythm of love

Bold, sophisticated, and flirtatious, Army Air Force flight nurse Lt. Kay Jobson collects hearts wherever she flies, leaving men pining in airfields all across Europe. So how can ruggedly handsome C-47 pilot Lt. Roger Cooper be all but immune to her considerable charms? In fact, he seems to do everything he can to avoid her.

Still, as they cross the skies between Italy and southern France, evacuating the wounded and delivering paratroopers and supplies, every beat of their hearts draws them closer to where they don’t want to go. Can they confront the fears and misunderstandings in their pasts?

Sarah Sundin seamlessly weaves together emotion, action, and sweet romance into a tale that transcends time and calls us to believe in the power of love.

In Perfect Time is the third novel in Sarah Sundin’s Wings of the Nightingale series. The novel is beautifully written and captures the heart.

The awesomeness of God’s grace is a strong theme in this novel. It is also something that many of us struggle with–when are we “good enough”? This is something that both of the main characters struggle with in this story, and makes them relatable to the reader. Sundin’s characters are so rich in their depth, that it is hard to believe that at the end of the story, they are fictional characters. What they go through, the emotions they have, and their personalities bring them to life.

As I mentioned in the introduction, Sundin effortlessly brings WWII to the readers. It is so easy to visualize the locations and the airplanes. While there are a number of technical details at times, they are read effortlessly and quite understandable. I imagine the amount of research that went into this novel is astonishing, and as a reader, I’m very appreciative of that.

This novel does bring a satisfying conclusion to this series of stories. If you haven’t read the previous two (With Every Letter and On Distant Shores) I would recommend them. However, each novel probably could be read as a standalone as each one focuses on a different main character. There are bits of references to the previous stories, but nothing that would hinder the enjoyment of this book.

I hope that if you are like me, and find WWII fiction not something you would normally pick up, that you might give this series a try. Once I read one, I wanted to read them all, and will continue to watch for new books by Sarah Sundin in the future. If you already enjoy books such as this, then I would highly recommend this series as well as her Wings of Glory series ( A Distant MelodyA Memory Between UsBlue Skies Tomorrow). I can credit Sundin’s books with opening an area of historical fiction up to me that I now enjoy.

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my honest review**

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

Don’t forget to enter for a chance to win Through Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer. Contest is open until Aug. 20.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

 

2 thoughts on “Review: In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin

Leave a Reply

