Journal

Review: Deadly Devotion by Sandra Orchard

Deciding to write book reviews is a gamble of sorts on occasion. Sometimes they are books by authors I know I can trust to spin a wonderful story. Other times, I discover a new author who I actually enjoyed quite a bit. Unfortunately, sometimes I read something I just don’t quite enjoy. And then there are situations like this book, Deadly Devotion by Sandra Orchard.

I had an opportunity to review Sandra Orchard’s second book, Blind Trust, in her Port Astor Secrets series. When reading the summary about the book, I noticed it was book two. Based on those same summaries, I decided that it would be helpful to read the first book. I looked it up on Amazon, and purchased it for my kindle (not free, but fairly inexpensive). Well, I started the book, and it took me since Friday to get through the first 40% of the book. But, I forced myself to keep reading, and was rewarded for it. If you asked me Saturday, I was dreading having to read Blind Trust, but today, I want to get this post written so I can start reading it. (So hopefully you can look for that review soon!)

Also, don’t forget to look at the bottom of this post for how you can enter for a chance to win a print copy of Kim Vogel Sawyer’s Through the Deep Waters!

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From the Back Cover: 

Kate knows the truth is out there–but if she’s right, that means a killer is out there too.

Research scientists Kate Adams and Daisy Leacock were on the brink of a breakthrough for treating depression with herbal medicine when Daisy was suddenly found dead. Kate knows that her mentor’s death wasn’t suicide or a careless accident–and she’s determined to do whatever it takes to unearth the truth about what happened to the woman who changed her life.

Former FBI agent Tom Parker is finding it hard to adjust to life back in his hometown of Port Aster. Though an old buddy gave him a job as a detective on the local police force, not everyone approves. Tom’s just trying to keep a low profile, so when Kate Adams demands he reopen the investigation into her friend’s death, he knows his job is at stake. But despite his attraction to her, Tom thinks Kate may have something to hide.

As evidence mounts, a web of intrigue is woven around the sleepy town of Port Aster. Can Kate uncover the truth? Or will Tom stand in her way?

If it wasn’t for signing up to review the sequel of this book, I would have never finished it. I would have missed out on a well woven mystery as well.

In my opinion, the beginning of this novel came across as very shallow. The characters lacked depth, and I felt like I jumped into the middle of a story. I looked up online a couple of times to make sure that this was the first book. I decided to keep reading, because there had to be a reason this book had gotten so many 5 and 4 star reviews on Amazon, right?

Well, I kept reading and it paid off. I think it just took a long time for the story to get me hooked. Or maybe there was a lot of backstory I actually needed. I’m not sure what it was. But at around the 50% mark, I moved from wanting to put the book down to “I can’t wait to pick it back up.”

I’m not sure if this was the most suspenseful book, I’ve read, but it contained a complicated mystery. As I read along and tried to reason things out with the main characters, I think I hit as many dead ends as they did. The conclusion also offered a pretty big surprise.

I still think the characters lacked some depth, but by the end of the novel, they were starting to feel a bit more real to me. Hopefully, since the same characters are in the next book, they will continue to get deeper.

I would love to hear from you! Are there any books that you struggled to keep reading but were rewarded in the end? Any books you have tried to read multiple times but just can’t get through those first few chapters?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

**This is a book that I personally bought. The opinions expressed are my own.**

Don’t forget to enter for a chance to win Through Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer. This is a wonderful book. Click on the book cover for more details.Contest is open until Aug. 20.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

 

Leave a Reply

