Book Review

Review: Blind Trust by Sandra Orchard

Yesterday I struggled with writing a review. I really don’t enjoy writing ones that have a decent amount of negativity. Today, I nearly feel terrible about it, because I’m reviewing the sequel, and well, I loved the book. To make it more complicated, I probably wouldn’t have enjoyed the second book nearly as well if I had skipped the first book.

I went to school to be a high school english teacher. With that, came a healthy dose of “how to give constructive feedback.” I sincerely hope that when I do have to include those negative aspects, that for readers who discover my reviews, it helps them decide if a book is one they really want to read or not. Since I have had a few authors stop by and check out my reviews, I also hope that my thoughts are encouraging and helpful. With that in mind, I’m glad that I get to write a positive one for Blind Trust.

Also, don’t forget to look at the bottom of this post for how you can enter for a chance to win a print copy of Kim Vogel Sawyer’s Through the Deep Waters!

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From Amazon:

Kate Adams had no idea she was carrying counterfeit money, and she can’t believe that it came from her sweet neighbor. Or that it lands her in the middle of another one of Detective Tom Parker’s investigations. Determined to prove her neighbor’s innocence, Kate stumbles into a pit of intrigue that is far deeper than a two-bit counterfeit operation–and strikes too close to home for comfort. As family secrets come to light, her world–and her budding romance with Tom–begin to crumble. To Kate, it’s clear that she won’t be safe until she uncovers all of Port Aster’s secrets. But is it too late for her and Tom?

Award-winning author Sandra Orchard draws readers into a world of rogues, red herrings, and romance as she unfolds the continuing story of amateur sleuth Kate Adams.

I can’t help but reference book 1 in this series. Where the first book started off slow, this one had me turning pages faster than I could read them. Well, not really because that would make the book hard to read. But, this novel was quite eventful.

I didn’t have the same problems with the characters. I have spent enough time with them, that they felt quite a bit more fleshed out by now. Their words and actions felt quite natural. The relationship between Tom and Kate was also a treat in this novel. Some novels rush the romance factor, but that certainly isn’t the case with this one.

The mystery in this novel kept me guessing. The description from Amazon couldn’t be any more dead on in the number of “red herrings” in this book. There is always clues pointing in one direction when they really add up to something totally different and unexpected.

My one complaint for this novel is that I felt like it stopped in the middle of the story. While it picks right up after the conclusion of Deadly Devotion, it ends with a lot of loose ends. But I bet that was intentional, because a third book is in the works, and I can’t wait to see how all of the ends are tied up.

I would love to hear from you! How do you handle writing negative reviews?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

**I received a copy of this book from Revell and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.**

Don’t forget to enter for a chance to win Through Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer. This is a wonderful book. Click on the book cover for more details.Contest is open until Aug. 20.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

Leave a Reply

