Book Review

Review: Firewall by DiAnn Mills

I have this problem, I think. When I see a cover of a book pop up enough times, whether it’s reviews, on facebook, when I browse around on Amazon or my library’s website, I tend to want to read the book. It doesn’t matter if I’ve read the synopsis or not. The book cover just sticks in my mind and it get added to my list of books to read.

That’s what happened with Firewall by DiAnn Mills. Something about this book just drew me in. Then I watched a clip where DiAnn Mills talked about where her idea for the book came from. Let’s just say that convinced me further I wanted to read the book.

Also, don’t forget to look at the bottom of this post for how you can enter for a chance to win a print copy of Kim Vogel Sawyer’s Through the Deep Waters!

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From Amazon: 

After a whirlwind romance, Taryn Young is preparing to board a plane at Houston International Airport, bound for a dream honeymoon, when a bomb decimates the terminal. Injured but still alive, she awakens to discover her husband is missing and they’re both considered prime suspects in the attack. Further, the FBI is convinced her husband isn’t who he appears to be.

Agent Grayson Hall’s number-one priority is to catch those responsible for the day’s act of terror. All evidence is pointing to Taryn and her new husband. But his instinct tells him her pleas of innocence are genuine. Is her naiveté just for show, or could she truly be another victim of a master scheme, possibly linked to the software she recently developed for her company?

With both their lives and reputations on the line, and the media outcry for justice increasing with each passing minute, Taryn and Grayson have no choice but to trust one another . . . and pray they can uncover the truth before they become two more casualties.

First of all, if you decide to pick up this book, be prepared to REALLY want to read it in one setting. This is an action-packed book filled with suspense, chase scenes, life-threatening situations, and a bit of romance thrown in.

I really enjoyed the characters in this novel. Both Taryn and Grayson are really well developed. Taryn is quite interesting with her high intelligence and down to earth sense of humor. Grayson is your all-around good guy just trying to do the best he can.

The story begins with such an interesting concept: newlyweds separated at the time of a tragedy, and the husband might not be who his wife thinks he is. It’s a confusing situation for Taryn and she (and the reader!) want to get things figured out as soon as possible. But each layer goes deeper into a web of secrets and danger.

While it had very little time in the forefront, I think the faith aspect of this novel came across quite well. As I can imagine, sometimes brushing close to death can cause us to examine our lives. This is Taryn’s situation as she considers God.

If you enjoy a novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat, you should probably get a hold of a copy of this book.

I would love to hear from you! Do you enjoy suspenseful novels? What are some of your favorites or favorite authors of them?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**

Don’t forget to enter for a chance to win Through Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer. This is a wonderful book. Click on the book cover for more details.Contest is open until Aug. 20.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

4 thoughts on “Review: Firewall by DiAnn Mills

  1. This sounds like a book I’d like to give a try. I’m going to have to ask you to slow down on your reviews. Lol I can’t keep up with the great books you read! Lol You’ve helped me add so many to my reading list.
    I do like a good suspense/mystery. Colleen Coble stick out in my mind. I’ve read her Mercy Falls series and loved each of them! Beguiled by Deeanne Gist was another favorite for me. Have you read either of those yet?

    Like

    1. Well, you’ve been busy! 😉

      I’ve only read a couple of books by Colleen Coble, but neither of them suspense/mystery types. Well, I guess the one short story was a bit of a mystery.

      While I’ve read most of Deeanne Gist’s books (maybe all?), I’ve yet to read Beguiled. I’ll have to add them to my lists of books to read.

      Like

Leave a Reply

