Journal

Review: Once Upon a Prince by Rachel Hauck

Fairytales. The very word conjures up princes and princesses. Evil stepmothers, damsels in distress and dragons. Enchanted forests and castles. Perhaps most importantly, true love.

I’ve always had a soft spot for fairytales. Maybe it is the happy endings or the princess being swept off her feet. What little girl doesn’t dream of her chance of being Cinderella? Fortunately, my husband, when we were dating, was very in tune with these little girl dreams of mine. Even beyond the realm of fairytales, I’ve always had a strong interest in royal families and all that their stories entail. Some of it is true love some of it is politics. But the castles and palaces, those remain in the stories. Unfortunately, America doesn’t really have the same type of castles that can be found all across Europe. But, we’ve built some of our own over time.It was at one of these castles that my husband, then boyfriend, took me to ask me to marry him. The day turned out to be my very own fairytale and we still live happily ever after.

I still love diving into the history of monarchs and tell me there is another Disney fairytale playing at the theatre and I will start to immediately make plans to see it. The same is true for stories. I still enjoy picking up a fairytale now and then.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

From Amazon: 

Once Upon a Prince, the first novel in the Royal Wedding series by best-selling author Rachel Hauck, treats you to a modern-day fairy tale.

Susanna Truitt never dreamed of a great romance or being treated like a princess—just to marry the man she has loved for twelve years. But life isn’t going according to plan. When her high-school-sweetheart-turned-Marine-officer breaks up instead of proposing, Susanna scrambles to rebuild her life.

The last thing Prince Nathaniel expects to find on his American holiday to St. Simons Island is the queen of his heart. A prince has duties, and his family’s tense political situation has chosen his bride for him. When Prince Nathaniel comes to Susanna’s aid under the fabled Lover’s Oak, he is blindsided by love.

Their lives are worlds apart. He’s a royal prince. She’s an ordinary girl. But everything changes when Susanna receives an invitation to Nathaniel’s coronation.

It’s the ultimate choice: His kingdom or her heart? God’s will or their own?

After having just finished reading this book (and really enjoying the ending) I want to gush about how much I loved the whole thing. But that would not be honest. I loved the second half of the book.

Throughout the part of the book, I had a hard time finding the characters believable. Susanna was just hard to get a good handle on her personality and the 12 year relationship with her high school sweetheart, just felt contrived. As for Prince Nathaniel, he shows up almost too perfectly. I’m not sure if I can quite peg what it was, but I struggled with wanting to keep reading this book that I really wanted to like. It also wasn’t helping that there were some political issues happening with Prince Nathaniel’s kingdom that were hard to fully understand (at least on my part).

Somewhere in the middle though, something changed. It was like the characters just came to leave. Things didn’t feel as forced. Their emotions were real and the plot had me reading pages as fast as I could. I had to know what was going to happen. The love story that develops between Susanna and Nathaniel is complex. While I thought I had the ending figured out, it wasn’t quite what I was expecting.

While I did struggle with this book, I’m planning on picking up the next book in this series, Princess Ever After. As well, as Rachel Hauck’s novella, A March Bride. The struggle in the beginning was worth it in the end, and hopefully I won’t have the same issues with the next book.

I would love to hear from you! Do you enjoy fairytales? What are some of your favorites?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**

2 thoughts on “Review: Once Upon a Prince by Rachel Hauck

  1. I love fairytales!! My favorite has always been Cinderella. I don’t think I’ve come across a retelling of the classic story that I didn’t like.
    That was super amazing of your husband!!! I’m so glad he made it special for you!

    Like

    1. I’m always a bit surprised when people don’t really care for fairytales. What’s not to love?!? I think my personal favorite is probably Beauty and the Beast, although Cinderella is probably a close second.

      Yeah, my husband gave me a pretty memorable proposal 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

