Book Review · Journal

Adios, August!

August has been a different month for my reading queue. Where normally my reading is filled with historical fiction and the occasional romance, August has consisted of a number of suspense novels. I’m not complaining, though. Suspense novels are quite entertaining. But I’m glad that a more historical fiction is popping up for my planned reviews in September. Feel free to click on the book titles to read my reviews of that book.

I feel as if I have read a large variety of novels this month. I’ve spent time in Appalachia, traveled to little known historical places across the United States, visited King Solomon’s Palace, searched for missing art in Italy, joined an FBI investigation and experienced a piece of the Civil War. Books truly let us live a hundred lives and experience thousands of things. That is probably one of my favorite parts of reading, and this month just demonstrates it more than most. While I stick close to historical fiction, I do like to stray once in awhile especially when a mystery is involved.

Firewall by Diann Mills was by far the most intense book I read this month. It kept me up at night more than most other books because I just had to see what happened next. In college, one of the staffs I worked with, gave me a  “I’d rather watch ‘guy movies'” award for my love of action flicks. This book definitely fit into the action genre with a couple of chase scenes and shooting scenes. However, within it’s pages was a story of trusting God and trusting others.

Where Can I Flee by A.M. Heath let me jump into one of my favorite genres, Civil War fiction. The novel’s backbone is all about faith in God. God pursuing the characters is the true romance in this novel, and I loved every page of it. While we do visit some battles, the book captures the day-to-day of the Civil War. The characters are lovely and the writing exquisite.

I loved learning about some of the little known historical facts in Andrew Carroll‘s Here is Where. Starting where John Wilkes Booth’s brother rescued Abraham Lincoln’s son at a railroad station, Carroll traveled to various places in the United States to see where a number of other obscure historical events took place. The book reads like a travelogue, but I laughed and was surprised on more than one occasion. What stands out the most to me though, is the way he shows how some of these little events affected a number of the much larger one or have impacted our society today.

And finally, In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin has to make it as one of my favorite August reads. Sundin is a beautiful reader. Her characters have so much life to them it’s hard to believe that they are fiction. Sundin writes with vivid descriptions putting the reader right into the heat of the moment. I know my heart has pounded a bit harder when I read some of the more perilous passages of her novels. Since this is the final book of this series, I’m really looking forward to what she writes next.

September Line-Up: On September 1st, look for a review for A Light in the Wilderness by Jane Kirkpatrick. This is a lovely book centered around some fascinating women. Something a bit different from the books I typically review will be Love Story by Nichole NordemanLove Story offers some fresh perspective on the Bible stories we grow up hearing. The book attempts to recreate the moment we first learned the stories. Perhaps the book that I am most excited for though, is Love’s Fortune by Laura Frantz. She is an amazingly talented writer and I’ve been waiting for the third book in this series for some time now. Also, keep an eye out for a giveaway in September. It’ll be for a really good book, I promise!

If you are curious what other book reviews I have planned coming up, click on 2014 Book Reviews in the menu at the top of this page. There you can see all the reviews I have done over the past year and what books are coming soon.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site if you are interested in seeing what books I am currently reading. I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I don’t tweet a lot but you will see when I post a new blog and I do tweet about other giveaways for books that I find online. Either way, I would love to connect with you. If you are an author with a book you would like me to review, head over to my Review Policy and contact me through there, I really would love to hear from you! (Note: I am not currently accepting any books to review through September due to my busy schedule, but feel free to contact me if a review in October would work for you.)

Writing: August has been a busy month! I started out strong with some daily writing, but it has fallen to the wayside to keep up with chores around the house and our garden. Not to mention, canning season is starting to move into full swing. Hopefully in September, I can get back into a solid habit of writing and get some of the ideas that have been percolating in my mind down on paper.

What are some of your favorite books you read this past month? What books are you most looking forward to? Do you have any writing projects you are excited about?

Leave a Reply

