Journal

Review: Love Story by Nichole Nordeman

Non-fiction is a very small part of my reading diet. Really this should change. Afterall, non-fiction can be great fodder for writing ideas. However, I typically find that I get bored with it. I can’t curl up with one of my kitties and just read the whole book in one sitting. I’ll be lucky if I can get through more than a chapter in one sitting. This is why (other than some cookbooks) I don’t review a whole lot of non-fiction books.

Once in awhile though, a book will catch my interest. I can read more than just one chapter in a sitting and look forward to the next ones. Love Story by Nichole Nordeman fits into this category. 

Interested in winning a copy of Prelude for a Lord by Camille Elliot? Click here for details.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from First Look Blog Network in exchange for my honest review**

In this incredible book, Nichole Nordeman brings a costly, refreshing honesty to Love Story , her moving collection of musings based upon the best- selling album, The Story. This powerful narrative blends Nordeman’s deeply personal revelations with contemporary, insightful explorations of some of the Bible’s most familiar characters–from Adam and Eve to Job, Daniel, Mary, and the thief on the cross. Along the way, you’ll discover new ways of looking at these iconic individuals, finding fresh depth of meaning and a profound sense of kinship that reveals how real they were…and how like them we are. Most importantly, Nordeman invites us to stand in awe of God’s immense, relentless love that holds us all, from the Garden to the Gates.

In the synopsis for Love Story, it says  that this book “reveals how real” the people of the Bible are. I think this is a very accurate depiction of this book.

Each chapter of Love Story retells one of the “Sunday School” Bible stories. The same stories that we probably become so familiar with that we slowly lose some of the bigger message of the story beyond the Sunday School lesson. Each one of these stories is visited with anecdotes from Nichole Nordeman’s life, demonstrating how she arrived at some of these fresh glimpses.

I enjoyed the book. Nordeman’s writing style is humorous and conversational (I felt like I Was sitting across from her talking about her day over coffee). Every detail in the chapter seems to build up to a realization about a particular person in a Bible story or a new truth that could be gleaned from the story. One example that has stood out to me (as both a humorous chapter and in a “wow, I never thought of it that way” kind of way) is about Moses. She compares Moses to a mother, and in many ways, she has a strong argument for it. But the point of the chapter comes down to servitude.

This book is by no means a way to really dig deep into scripture. What this book is however, is a chance to revisit some of those same familiar Bible stories and to perhaps see them again for the first time. I know I gained some new ways to look at some of those stories again and to find perhaps more applicable meaning to my own life. I do wish however, that there was a bit more “Bible” and less anecdotes overall for the book. In some ways, I feel I might have learned a bit more about Nichole Nordeman than the Bible in the book. So I guess is depends on what your purpose for reading the book is.

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

Leave a Reply

