Book Review

Review: Blue Ribbon Baking from a Redneck Kitchen by Francine Bryson

Growing up, it seems like my mom was always baking. She was a homemaker and I think she enjoyed making things the whole family would enjoy. My favorites were her molasses cookies and apple pies. Both are things that I have learned to make since she has passed on, but I don’t enjoy them nearly as much as the ones that she made.

Baking is such a wonderful way to show those around us that we appreciate them. I tend to make my hubby’s favorite things a bit more frequently because I know how much he enjoys them. I know he also loves it when I try new things, so I’m always on the look for new cookbooks with great recipes. I think Francine Bryson’s cookbook will get opened up in my kitchen quite a bit.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review**

National pie champion, mom, homemaker, and self-proclaimed redneck, Francine Bryson won the hearts of bakers everywhere when she appeared on CBS’s The American Baking Competition and went on to become a finalist on the show. Known for her down-home Southern charm and sass (and for successfully pairing chocolate and peanut butter with bacon), Francine now shares her sought-after recipes and tips in her very first baking book.

This book is easily one of the most down to earth cookbooks I own. I can’t help but read the introduction and snippets before each recipe without a southern twang in my head. I also can’t help but chuckle at some of the recipe names like “Can’t-Live-Without-it Pumpkin Cheesecake” or “Keep-the-Hubby-at-Home Cake.” Even the anecdotes had me smiling (and hubby too as he read a few).

The recipes in the book are a nice blend between classic pies, cakes, and other desserts and some that are more along the lines of what you would see on Pinterest. This book has me anxious to get in the kitchen and bake up a storm. Bryson also includes a number of helpful tips about making pie crusts to making cheesecake. There are also some simple variations to the recipes in the books such as alternate frostings or different flavorings.

I think this will be a book that I turn to quite frequently if I want to make a dessert to take to a church function or family gathering. The recipes sound amazing. My one complaint is that I wish there were more pictures in it. I tend to be drawn a bit more to cookbooks with a ton of pictures as they help me decide what to make or if what I’m baking came out right. Plus, if something just looks REALLY good but has something in it I don’t normally care for, I’m probably a bit more likely to try it.

Overall, if you enjoy baking, this is a wonderful collection of recipes. I’m quite anxious to try a few.

I would love to hear from you! What are some of your favorite sweets and desserts?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

Leave a Reply

