Journal

Review: NIV Once-A-Day Bible for Women

I am terrible about starting routines. It’s actually not so much starting them, it is just routines in general. When I get ready for something, I never do things in the same order. Sometimes I do my hair first, other times I change my clothes first. Some mornings I eat breakfast first thing, other mornings, I eat an early lunch and skip breakfast. For whatever reason, I don’t enjoy schedules and routines (that’s part of the reason I haven’t committed to a solid schedule for my blog).

While I enjoy the spontaneity and flexibility that not having a set plan for things allow, it hinders other things. It helps me procrastinate on things. Some things get missed at times. It just generally makes it hard to develop new habits.

I’ve always struggled with getting into a good “routine” about reading my Bible. It isn’t that I don’t want to do it, but when I don’t have a plan for it, it tends to get overlooked. As a Christian, this is a big problem. It means I don’t always know where to find answers in the Bible, because I’m not as familiar with it as I should be. It also means that I’m missing out on a huge part of having a relationship with God. It also means that I’m unprepared for any sort of spiritual battles. So, I’ve tried a few different things to help with this habit. My hubby and I have planned out our own year (month by month) of reading the Bible. For the most part, I’ve been able to stick with it. But I’ve wondered how I would do with a Bible that is laid out in a plan for day by day devotionals and sections to read. 

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review**

With this NIV Once-A-Day Bible for Women, you can read through the Bible in a year. . . or at your own pace. Now you can practice the spiritual discipline of daily Bible reading at your own pace. Want a reading plan that will take you through the Bible in a year? You got it. Don’t want the guilt of falling behind in your daily reading? You won’t—each daily reading is numbered, not dated, allowing the flexibility you need as you strive to engage God’s Word every day. Looking for a Bible with insights about what you as a woman most need to hear? These are included as well in the intuitive, hopeful devotional thoughts located at the end of each daily reading. The NIV Once-A-Day Bible for Women organizes the clear, accessible New International Version Bible into 365 daily readings. Each day’s reading includes a portion of Scripture from the Old Testament, the New Testament, and a Psalm or a Proverb, followed by an encouraging devotional thought specifically written for women.

There are so many things to love about this once-a-day Bible. First of all, the introduction starts out with the path to salvation, as well as a list of verses pertaining to salvation. I think this is a wonderful addition for someone who has just been saved and is looking to deepen their faith with regular reading. It just makes a nice reference point.

Second, I like the fact that this Bible includes passages from three parts of the Bible for daily reading. Each day has a New Testament passage, Old Testament passage, and finally as passage from either Psalms or Proverbs. Each passage is chronological from day-to-day. Along with each day is a small snippet of something to reflect on from one of the three passages to be read for the day.

For daily reading, this book is laid out wonderfully. You can start at the beginning, and move through it and read the Bible in a year. For other Bible uses (i.e. church or in a situation when you want to look up passages quickly) it might not be quite as useful as each Testament is so broken up.

For myself, and for others as well, I can definitely see this once-a-day Bible being a great aid in starting to develop a good habit of daily reading.

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

2 thoughts on “Review: NIV Once-A-Day Bible for Women

Leave a Reply

