Journal

Review: Princess Ever After by Rachel Hauck

I married a car guy. When dating, this was probably one of the first areas I learned to let go of my own selfishness to share in his excitement over this interest of his. 7 years ago, I would recognize a Corvette or a Mustang, but that was the extent of my knowledge or how much I cared. Through 7 years of knowing my husband, he has taught me numerous things. I know about hood scoops and that some are functional and others are for looks. I can usually tell pretty quick when a car has had modifications done. 

I wonder if I would have got as caught up in this novel from the beginning if it wasn’t for this interest of my husband. From page one, the main character Reggie is excited about a restoration on a challenger. Throughout the novel, there are references to classic cars, and I generally knew what those references were. It made the novel come alive in a way that it might not have otherwise.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**

Regina Beswick was born to be a princess. But she’s content to be a small-town girl, running a classic auto restoration shop, unaware a secret destiny awaits her. One that will leap from the pages of her grandmother’s hand-painted book of fairytales. Tanner Burkhardt is the stoic Minister of Culture for the Grand Duchy of Hessenberg. When he is tasked to retrieve the long-lost princess, he must overcome his fear of failure in order to secure his nation’s future—and his own. Yet lurking in the political shadows is a fierce opponent with sinister plans to abolish the throne forever. Overwhelmed with opposition, Regina must decide if she’s destined to restore old cars or an ancient nation. Together—with a little divine intervention—Regina and Tanner discover the truth of her heritage and the healing power of true love.

Much like Once Upon a Prince, I adored this novel. Reggie is so down to earth, and I can’t imagine anyone having a much different reaction to finding out that they are a princess.

Rachel Hauck’s writing is so unique. The narrative is almost like a stream of conscious coming from the characters and very conversational. I’m pretty sure my husband would have given me funny looks as I would chuckle or smirk while reading. I also loved the way journal entries from Reggie’s grandmother were spread through the novel. They gave a history to this made-up country.

Reggie is probably one of my favorite characters that I have come across. She is so spunky and tells it how it is. Not only that, but she has a faith that is tested with the events that are thrown at her. Her tom-boy ways also are a wonderful contrast to the ball gowns, heels and jewels that we would typically associate with a princess. I really enjoyed that she was so different.

And what is a fairytale without a love interest? Tanner is also interesting. There were a few things about him that really surprised me as they were revealed. His own life is quite complicated as he tries to help Reggie sort out her own life and deal with her misgivings about becoming a royal.

I found this novel to be a fast read. It was fun seeing King Nathaniel and Suzanne show up from Once Upon a Prince. This light-hearted tale would make a wonderful beach read or vacation read, although I enjoyed it during a rainy Michigan day.

I would love to hear from you! What have been some of your favorite becoming a princess stories or movies?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

Leave a Reply

