Book Review

Review: NIV Once-A-Day Bible: Chronological Edition

This blog would be quite different if I didn’t have the input of one other person. My hubby (who isn’t all that interested in the books I read and typically review on my blog) takes the time to review all of my posts before they go up. When I want to change the look of my blog, he sits down as I go through all of the different looks and layouts and helps me process why one might be better than another. When I have new ideas, he helps me talk through them and figure out how feasible they may or may not be or if it is even necessary.

I thought it was about time for my awesome hubby to put his blogging skills to use on a book review. Last week, I posted a review for the NIV Once-A-Day Bible for Women. My husband liked the idea of these Once-A-Day Bibles, so I requested the chronological edition for him. I’ll admit though, I think the chronological one looks pretty awesome, I might have to go through that one in 2016! I hope you enjoy reading my hubby’s thoughts as much as I did, and hopefully we’ll hear from him again in a future book review.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review**

The NIV Once-A-Day Bible: Chronological Edition helps you encounter the Bible every day in a new and fresh way. It organizes the clear and accessible NIV Bible into 365 daily readings in chronological order so that you can practice the spiritual discipline of daily Bible reading within a new and different context.

I am excited to start reading this once a day Bible. A personal goal of mine is to read the Bible each day and this Bible gives the structure needed to easily do that. Each day ends with a short reflection which summarizes the passage or applies it to modern readers.

This Bible is chronological, so it is organized in the order that events happened. Some books are read straight through and others are broken up to bring in parallel passages. One example of this would be many of the Psalms included throughout David’s life.

The biggest drawback I see with this Bible is that some readers may not like the way the four Gospels are organized. By virtue of the fact that many Gospel stories are repeated by multiple authors, these stories are often read together on the same day. I don’t find this a drawback personally, as I enjoy seeing the differences between the author’s styles and the details they included.

Overall, I think this Bible offers a fresh perspective due to the daily organization and chronological order. I am looking forward to use this for my personal devotions in 2015.

I would love to hear from you! What have been the most beneficial devotions you’ve done or what do you have planned for the future?
For more on this book, please click on the following link:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

4 thoughts on “Review: NIV Once-A-Day Bible: Chronological Edition

  1. I’ve always wanted to read the Bible chronologically, I think it’d give a fresh perspective on the Bible. I’m reading through the Bible this year but maybe next year, I’ll try this one so thanks for your review!
    P.S. I think it’s awesome how your husband is so supportive of your blog 🙂

    Like

    1. I think it’s awesome too!

      I think reading the Bible chronologically wouldn’t be really enlightening, especially for some books of the Bible such as Psalms. Reading them in relation to when David probably wrote them would bring a lot of things to light I would think.

      Like

  2. It is really cool that your husband gets involved in your blog on a behind the scenes level. It’s wonderful to have such great support!
    I’m actually almost done reading a different version of a chronological Bible and I love it!! I highly recommend a chronological study. As your other guest mentioned, it brings a fresh perspective to your study. However, I wouldn’t recommend a book like this for a new believer and it’s not the sort of Bible you want to carry to church since searching for one passage can be difficult. Other than that, it’s a great addition to a Christian’s collection. The next Bible on my list: A multi-translation Bible. I have one picked out…now I just need to make a purchase 😉

    Like

    1. That’s so interesting that you want a multi-translation Bible. Our Sunday school class is going through a book about studying the Bible and we just discussed the pros and cons of the various translations and looked at some comparisons of them.

      I think these Once-a-day Bibles are really good for personal Bible reading plans, just because of the layout of them, and, really, that is what they are designed for. But to use one as a reference tool or to use in church would drive me crazy! They do have a nice index in the front to tell you where to find the books in the Bible, but it’s not nearly as fast as just knowing where to look.

      Like

Leave a Reply

