Book Review

Review: Out of the Storm by Jody Hedlund

If you have stopped by my blog often enough, you might notice that I have a bit of state pride. I’m probably biased, but I truly think Michigan has to be one of the nicest places to live in the US (if you can ignore that snowy season). We typically experience all four seasons. Summers are gorgeous and we have some beautiful lakes to enjoy that time of the year. Fall is filled with vibrant oranges, yellows and reds and the smell of apples from the orchards. 

Michigan is also known for our lighthouses. The state has over 3,000 miles of shoreline, and some of those waters have proven to be treacherous. Thousands of ships have sunk in the great lakes and I would imagine the numbers would be higher if it wasn’t for the number of lighthouses that dot our shores. Visiting some of them (even though I’ve only been to a handful) are always a highlight of my summer (even in winter–the lakes can be stunning when the water freezes).

Jody Hedlund is one of my favorite novels. She brings the history of Michigan to life, and her new Beacons of Hope series centers around these iconic towers in Michigan. I’ve been pretty excited for the series since I first heard about it, and now that I’ve read the novella she wrote for the series, I can’t wait for the first full-length novel (the first few chapters are included with the eBook, but I chose not to read them because it just seemed like a cruel thing to do to myself). The novella is currently free on Amazon, so head there and pick up your copy!

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**This is a book from my own personal collection. I am not being compensated for this review.**

Having grown up in a lighthouse, loneliness is all Isabelle Thornton has ever known–and all, she assumes, she ever will know. But when her lightkeeper father rescues a young man from the lake, her sheltered world is turned upside down. Bestselling author Jody Hedlund’s Out of the Storm is her first ever novella and introduces readers to Beacons of Hope, a new series set in the 1800s amid the romance, history, and danger surrounding the Great Lakes lighthouses of Michigan.

This was a wonderful novella to start of the series. Like all of her stories, Jody does a wonderful job of dropping the reader into the world of the character.

The novella starts out with a ship wreck, and the tragedy pulled me in from the first moment. I wanted to know what happened and if anyone would survive. The one survivor becomes a main character with a charming personality.

Isabelle is someone I wish I could know in real life. She is so great about soaking up all life gives her, but she feels like she is missing out on something.

Overall, I really enjoyed this novella. It had a number of surprising revelations and there was a tension that coursed through it pushing the story forward. Like most novellas, it was a quick read.

I would love to hear from you! Have you ever visited a lighthouse? 

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

4 thoughts on “Review: Out of the Storm by Jody Hedlund

  1. Hi there! Popped over to read your review. I have this on my kindle to be read shortly. Now I’m definitely ready. I have never been to a Michigan Lighthouse, but I have seen several and touted them in North Carolina. Wonderful area on the Outer Banks for lighthouse! Take a trip if you ever get a chance. Thanks for the review!

    Like

  2. Great review! Your comments actually made me go download the novella, so I’m excited to read it. 🙂 And I completely understand your feelings about your home state. That’s how I feel about California!

    Like

Leave a Reply

