Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (October 8)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

Well, this week has been interesting. On Friday, I took a bit of a pause from writing to do a bit of research because I was really curious about something. As I’ve mentioned, the novel I’m working on is loosely based on a variety of events from my maternal grandmother’s life. Well, one of those involves a gangster. Yup, that’s right. My grandmother may have had a bit of a run-in with a gangster (if you are into this kind of thing, he was part of John Dillinger’s gang). Growing up, and even now, I’m not sure how much truth exists within the story. So I decided to look up if it was even possible, and turns out that there was a good chance it could have happened.

I also decided to break out my Dragon software. If you are unfamiliar with it, Dragon is a lovely dictation program. As I write, I tend to be “watching” a scenes play in my mind. I typically see what is going on for a little bit, then pause it, and write down what happened. For myself, it can be time consuming. I see details and want to capture as much as possible. It can be overwhelming. Dictation software is amazing. I can sit back, close my eyes, and verbally tell the story. The downside is, that it doesn’t get all the punctuation right (it doesn’t handle quotes on it’s own, so I have to verbally command the quotes as well as new paragraphs). This can get to be a bit annoying, and it means a bit of quick editing after I use it for a little while. But I do enjoy it, and sometimes I’m surprised at how many more words I can get down when I am using Dragon.

My Writing Goals for the month of October:

My October writing goal is to just write every day, Monday through Friday, in hopes of hitting at least a minimum of 500 words per day and develop a healthy habit of daily writing.

How have I been doing?

This first week of October was interesting for getting into a writing groove. I have to admit, that I didn’t even write on day one, or day two. But I made up for it on the  Friday with writing around 1,500 words. I had intentions of providing myself with plenty of time for writing this week. I made a huge pot of soup, so I only needed to heat that up for my lunch and planned some quick and easy dinners. I was allowing myself to be flexible with my time. A Bible study at my church started as well, and that came with homework (lots of it), so the amount of time I’ve had available for writing, has probably remained the same. But that’s okay. I still did it. I started the week at 4,102 words. I’ve ended the week at 6,631 words. So I definitely made my goal for the week, if not quite writing every day.

Writing Reflections:

I can often be a bit of a visionary. Before I start a project, I dream about when that project is completed, what it will look like, and how accomplished I will feel when it is completed.

I’m also impatient. I want to achieve the dream today, or probably more like yesterday. It’s a lot of work to write a novel. There are a lot of stages. In my mind, I can see the finished project. Hold the book in my hands, maybe even a book launch party or book signing. But my mind wants to skip over all of those middle steps.

The quote I’m using for this post really stands out to me. I have a dream of perfection for the story I’m currently working on. It is going to take a lot of work to get there. When we shop around at the bookstore, we are seeing the finished and “perfect” product. We don’t see where that author started.

The quote also reminds me about life. At the beginning of our lives, we aren’t even close to perfect. 27 years into my own, and I’m still not even close. But, with effort on our part, and with an awesome God on our side, someday, we will reach that level of perfection.

So, as I work on my life to become more Christlike, because he is that level of perfection we need to work for, I’m also going to work on achieving my own dream of perfection, which is my novel. Someday, the world may get to see it, and I hope that it will bless someone who will read it.

I love hearing from my blog-readers!

Did you set any writing goals for October? What are they and how are you doing with them?

2 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (October 8)

  1. It sounds like you’re making good progress. That story about your grandmother’s run-in with a gangster definitely sounds like story material. 🙂 This month, my goal is: to finish editing my novel (release date: mid-November – hurrah!) and to format it completely. And yes, that quote is definitely applicable! Thanks for the encouraging post.

    Like

    1. November is going to come up so fast! That’s exciting that you are in the editing stages.

      I never knew if the gangster story was truth or fiction, but it is fun to think it actually happened an even better is that it is actually plausible!

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

