Journal

Review: Nowhere to Turn by Lynette Eason

One thing about not feeling well, is that it gives you a lot of time to read. The last couple of days I’ve been fighting off a cold that has me incredibly drained. So, I’ve been laying on the couch and moving through some of the books I’ve been needing to review. This particular novel has been a struggle. It was so intense at times and I wanted to keep reading while my body was telling me I needed to sleep. This was a book I think I could have easily read all at once. But perhaps it was a good thing I didn’t, because that meant I was able to savor it a bit longer.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from Revell and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**

The day Danielle Harding takes her 11-year-old son, Simon, and flees from her abusive husband, is the same day Kurt Harding dies. A relieved Dani believes she and her son are finally safe–but in reality, the danger has just begun. When Kurt was alive, he took something important to a mysterious person. That person wants the item back and believes Dani now has it. As she and her son run for their lives, they have nowhere to turn, until she hires Adam Buchanan of Operation Refuge and goes into hiding. Unfortunately, she won’t be able to hide for long . . . From the first breathless scene, this tension-laced story will hold readers in its iron grip. Bestselling author Lynette Eason propels readers along at a breakneck pace in a race to discover the truth and a better future.

Nowhere to Turn is a tension-filled novel with a bit of a mystery to it.

Lynette Eason weaves a web in this novel that has you wondering who exactly is after Dani Harding, and why? Between her brother-in-law Stuart and a seemingly deadlier foe, Dani only wants to be able to have a normal life with her son, Simon, after her abusive husband is dead.

Dani is a complex character. There is a lot number of things from her past that have brought her to the point of where this novel takes place. Adam, the hero of the story, is similar in that regard. Together, a few sparks fly between them, but nothing can come of it until Dani and Simon are safe.

Nowhere to Turn was definitely a page turner. While it is the second novel in the Hidden Identity series, it can be read as a standalone novel. I haven’t read the first book, but I had the impression that some of the things of the first novel were revealed in this one. So if you don’t want any spoilers, you should probably read the first novel first, even the stories are quite different.

I would love to hear from you! What do you like to do when you aren’t feeling well?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

2 thoughts on “Review: Nowhere to Turn by Lynette Eason

  1. It depends on how sick I am. If my mind is awake enough, I’m probably reading. Otherwise, I’m watching more tv. I don’t normally watch much tv, especially when I’m in the middle of a writing season, so a tv break is pretty relaxing for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

