Book Review

Review: The Covered Deep by Brandy Vallance

If it was feasible to make it a permanent past, I would love to spend every day traveling. I love to see new sites. Stepping into an piece of history is also an amazing experiencing. I guess that it one reason why I love to read so much. I can still experience new places, even if it is just in my imagination.

When I read the synopsis for The Covered Deep, I felt like this was a novel written just for me. The heroine is looking for someone who can quote both Jesus and Shakespeare and the novel is set in London and Palestine. That combination just screamed that this would be a wonderful book filled with some interesting journeys. I was not disappointed.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from First Look Blog Network in exchange for my honest review**

Bianca Marshal is holding out for the perfect husband. Finding a man that meets the requirements of her “must-have” list in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains has proven impossible. Bianca’s mama insists that there’s no such thing as a perfect true love, and that Bianca’s ideal man is pure fiction. On the eve of
her twenty-fifth birthday, Bianca discovers a devastating statistic: her chance of marrying is now only eighteen percent. Unwilling to accept spinsterhood, Bianca enters an essay contest that propels her into a whirlwind search for her soulmate. Via the opulence of London and the mysteries of the Holy Land, Bianca’s true love will be revealed, but not without a heavy price.

The Covered Deep is a novel that moved beyond my expectations. The story was intriguing and mysterious in all the best ways. The only character we know really well from the beginning is Bianca. The other characters we discover more about as we move along, and some of them become quite surprising!

Even more than being a compelling story, The Covered Deep is also a thought-provoking novel. I often found myself thinking over my own faith, forgiveness, and sins. I also wondered how other people view my own faith. So many novels can easily sweep you up into a story, but how many can impact your heart? This one touched mine.

The novel was a bit of a slow read for me, but I think that is because I took my time and really soaked up everything about it. The deeper truths within the story, the characters, the journeys to the middle east, and the story as a whole.

If you enjoy a novel with deeper meanings, make sure to pick up a copy of The Covered Deep.

I would love to hear from you! Where would you enjoy traveling to?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

Leave a Reply

