Book Review

Review: Tried and True by Mary Connealy

When it comes to books and movies, I’m not always that interested in the funny ones. I don’t mind them once in awhile, but once I’ve seen it or read it, that’s enough. The first time I picked up a novel by Mary Connealy, I don’t think I knew what I had gotten myself into. However, her light-hearted story-telling had me hooked. Her narratives are full of interesting word choices and fun characters, but her novels usually hit a certain depth at some point that resonates with truth. Her new series, Wild at Heart, intrigued me from the beginning, and I was excited to get to read this first book of the series.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

Don’t Miss the Giveaway for a CD of VIP by Manic Drive! If you enjoy Christian music, you’ll be sure to want to CLICK HERE to find out how to enter!

Contest is open until October 20 and open to residents of the US and Canada.

**I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**

Saddle up for a wildly fun ride with the Wilde sisters! Kylie Wilde is the youngest sister–and the most civilized. Her older sisters might be happy dressing in trousers and posing as men, but Kylie has grown her hair long and wears skirts every chance she gets. It’s a risk–they are homesteading using the special exemptions they earned serving in the Civil War as “boys”–but Kylie plans to make the most of the years before she can sell her property and return to the luxuries of life back East. Local land agent Aaron Masterson is fascinated with Kylie from the moment her long hair falls from her cap. But now that he knows her secret, can he in good conscience defraud the U.S. government? And when someone tries to force Kylie off her land, does he have any hope of convincing her that marrying him and settling on the frontier is the better option for her future?

From the first scene of this book I had a smile on my face. Kylie Wilde is a wonderful heroine. She knows what she wants in life, and it isn’t the same things her father and sisters want. While they all want to live a “manly life,” she just wants pretty frocks and a tea parties. For some reason, I found myself relating to Kylie a lot. Maybe it is because I also have an appreciation for some of the girlier things in life, and when you can relate to a main character, you tend to enjoy the book even more!

While the story of Tried and True is pretty straightforward, there were some pretty unexpected moments. The surprises kept popping up all the way through the end. Every time I thought the story would start to wind down, it would get pretty exciting again.

I can also appreciate the deep truths that resonate in this book. While there are moments of the characters praying sprinkled throughout, there is an even stronger message just waiting in the book.

All I can say, is that I loved this book more than I thought I would, and I can’t wait to read more about the other Wilde sisters, because in true series fashion, there are a number of questions raised about them in this book.

I would love to hear from you! Do you enjoy fiction that has a light-hearted tone to it? Who are some of your favorite authors who write this way?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

2 thoughts on “Review: Tried and True by Mary Connealy

Leave a Reply

