Journal

Review: The Brickmaker’s Bride by Judith Miller

Unfortunately for me, October seems to be the month that historical fiction is letting me down. I feel like I’ve read more novels that have been let downs for me. On the other hand, the suspense novels I’ve picked up are great! Good thing I still have a few of those planned.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

Don’t Miss the Giveaway for a CD of VIP by Manic Drive! If you enjoy Christian music, you’ll be sure to want to CLICK HERE to find out how to enter!

Contest is open until October 20 and open to residents of the US and Canada.

**I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review**

In the clay-rich hills of the newly founded state of West Virginia, two families tentatively come together to rebuild a war-torn brickmaking business. Ewan McKay has immigrated to West Virginia with his aunt and uncle, promising to trade his skills in the clay business for financial help. Uncle Hugh purchases a brickmaking operation from a Civil War widow and her daughter, and it’s Ewan’s job to get the company up and running again. Ewan seeks help from Laura, the former owner’s daughter, and he quickly feels a connection with her, but she’s being courted by another man–a lawyer with far more social clout and money than Ewan. Resolving that he’ll make the brickworks enough of a success that he can become a partner in the business and be able to afford to bring his sisters over from Ireland, Ewan pours all his energy into the new job. But when Hugh signs a bad business deal, all Ewan’s hard work is put in jeopardy. As his hopes for the future crumble, Laura reveals something surprising. Can she help him save the brickworks, and will Ewan finally get a shot at winning her heart?

I had a lot of high hopes for this novel. I really enjoy books that have something unique about their settings and storylines, and this one incorporates a brickyard. I can’t think of any other novels with a feature like that. Not to mention, I also found this cover beautiful.

However, I also found that I kept struggling to want to pick this book back up every time I set it down. I just didn’t really care what happened next. The characters just never quite felt like people I could connect to and the story felt like it moved quite slow. Ewan’s uncle and the lawyer Winston on the book both just kind of got onto my nerves.

There also wasn’t quite enough in the storyline to make me want to keep reading. There would be a scene here or there, but it always seemed like a little thing that was quickly resolved. Then it would be awhile before something would gain my interest yet again.

I hope that someday, I might decide to pick this book up again and try it. Until this one, I have enjoyed a number of novels that Judith Miller had written or co-written. This one just felt like a let-down.

I would love to hear from you! What books have disappointed you? 

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

Leave a Reply

