Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (October 29)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

I’m excited to have hit the 20% mark this week. I’ve consistently surprised myself with my word counts, and then I have had days like yesterday, where to focus on writing is a struggle (although part of that may have been not feeling my best either). But it is a new week, and NaNoWriMo starts Saturday. I’m hoping to even hit 30% this week.

My Writing Goals for the month of October:

My October writing goal is to just write every day, Monday through Friday, in hopes of hitting at least a minimum of 500 words per day and developing a healthy habit of daily writing.

How have I been doing?

I ended last week at 14,993 words. This week I am ending at 20,600, which is a few more words than last week. I’m finding it interesting to think about NaNoWriMo, and I wonder if I really can pull off the daily word counts that I need to do it. I’m sure I can, one of my writing days ended with just a bit over 2,600 words. But to do it consistently? That seems intimidating at times, especially since I don’t even think about writing on Sundays and Saturdays are hard to plan on for writing. So I need to count on writing 2,500 words everyday Monday through Friday.

It continues to amaze me how much even setting a daily goal for myself has helped me develop this habit of writing. Even though I am exceeding my goal (on most days) by quite a bit. But, there are a couple of things that I have learned over this past month with these goals. First of all, making my goal low enough has forced me to write. It is usually pretty easy to just squeeze 500 words in a day. Second of all, watching that word count climb becomes addicting. I find that when I do have an extremely successful writing day, I want to do it again. So I challenge myself to repeat it. “Oh, I wrote 2,600 words yesterday? Let’s do that again, today.” Then I am a bit annoyed with myself for not even coming close. But that is why I set an original goal.

So, starting November 1, my goals need to change. I need to write 2,500 words to “win” NaNoWriMo (since Saturday and Sunday are not writing days for me). But I’m not making that my goal. My goal is 2,000 words a day (Monday-Friday). I will have days when I write quite a bit more than that I’m sure. If I win, great! And if I don’t, well then, my novel grew that much more by the end.

Writing Reflections:

Sometimes it is a struggle each week to find a quote by a writer or a quote about writing that feels relevant to my week. However, this one feels right on target. As I’m trying to debate on joining in on the fun of NaNoWriMo, I’m looking at where I am at on my novel. I’m debating whether I need a certain character in the story or not. I know where my novel starts, and I have most of that written, and I know where it needs to end. But those scenes in the middle are foggy. More than once the thought to stop writing the story has crossed my mind. Afterall, how can I write something that I don’t know? But, so far, I’ve had enough scenes to write, and hopefully some of the fog will lift and the middle part of the story will become clearer.

As long as I’m still writing, I can call myself a writer.

How is your writing project coming along? Are you making any goals?

Feel free to share in the comment section. I love to hear from my readers!

5 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (October 29)

  1. Fret not, my friend! Often times there are “foggy” areas in the story. It’s like driving in the fog with dimmers. You can only see directly in front of you, but the further you go, the more you’ll see. My books are like that too. I have a clear beginning, I understand the end, but the twist and turns in the middle are often hidden from me, save for a few distinct scenes. Sometimes, rereading the last chapter or two will give you insight into what you need for the next chapter. And when that fails, ask your self some simple questions: “What do I NEED to happen?” Picture your ending or the next known scene in your mind and ask simply, “What can take me there?” Such simple thoughts can help rein in your mind and help you to see clearly. And never forget prayer. 😉 God is the giver of all wisdom and only He can perfectly see through the fog!
    I love the quote this week!!

    Like

      1. Lol I don’t even remember the quotes I posted. There were some others posted in another group that I meant to go back and snag so we could all be encouraged by them. I pull most of my author quotes from pinterest. 🙂

        Like

  2. Most of them are on a secret board. At the time, most people didn’t know I was writing. I guess I need to start making them public or repinning some of them. I think I searched up author quotes and found a slew of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

