Book Review · Giveaways

Review and Giveaway: A Lifelong Love by Gary Thomas

This past year, my husband and I had a goal to work on our marriage. Not that our marriage is bad, in fact, it’s great. At 3 1/2 years in, we are still newlyweds. But is it ever too soon to seek out advice about marriage? 

We have found books focused on different aspects of marriage to be both interesting and practical. While not everything always applies to us, there are so many truths that we have found. When problems have come up, we often have a way to approach them. Reading the books has also helped us to understand one another just a little bit more.

While I’ve yet to read it, my husband enjoyed Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas. The book is a popular one for discussing marriage. For that reason, my husband was quite interested in this book, especially when the opportunity came along to review it. Since he’s already familiar with Gary Thomas’s writing, he’s sharing his thoughts on A Lifelong Love on the blog today. 

Don’t forget to check out the giveaway at the bottom of this post!

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from Flyby Promotions Blogger Network in exchange for my honest review**

Gary Thomas believes couples often settle for too little when it comes to marriage. We fail to understand how deeply God cares about our spouse. We diminish our need to not only understand what biblical love really is, but also to become a people who excel at it. We let ourselves drift apart instead of making the daily choices to grow closer together. Whether your marriage needs a complete makeover, a touch up, or just a new purpose, A Lifelong Love promises to set your relationship on an entirely new dimension. You will never look at worship or your spouse in the same way again. You will understand how living for that day will so radically transform the decisions you make this day. And Gary will guide you through the power shifts and seasonal mine fields that blow up so many marriages so that you can grow in your love instead of in your disappointment. Thirty years of study and two decades of working with couples has led Gary Thomas to his most significant book yet on the relationship between husband and wife. Find out for yourself what all the fuss is about—and why A Lifelong Love is sure to challenge the way the church talks about marriage.

A Lifelong Love is challenging and thought-provoking book about Christian marriage.

Each chapter in A Lifelong Love is split up into many short sections and ends with a few discussion questions and a prayer. Gary Thomas’ writing style is fairly serious as he touches on many hard topics such as divorce and domestic abuse. It was not easy for me to read this book for long periods of time as I needed time to reflect on the material.

A Lifelong Love reads quite different than many other marriage books I’ve read (which is quite a few at this point!), as he doesn’t focus as much on changing small, everyday behaviors. The main focus is on combating our selfish attitude and making sure our priorities align with God’s priorities.

If you’re looking for a marriage book with a “big-picture” focus with an emphasis on the importance of building a God-centered marriage, I would definitely recommend this book. It’s a tough read at times, but it will be worth the effort.

I would love to hear from you! Have you read any really great books on marriage? Or what advice do you like to share?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

The Giveaway:

To enter into the drawing for a copy of A Lifelong Love by Gary Thomas, please comment on this post and include your email in a safe format (name(at)website(dot)com). If you don’t leave your email and your name is drawn, a new winner will be chosen. If you are uncomfortable leaving your e-mail in the comments, you can also send it to me by contacting me. Please make note of this giveaway.

This contest is open to residents of the US and Canada.

Contest is open until November 7, 2014 at midnight. I will select a winner through random.org on October 8 and they will be contacted by e-mail. Please respond in 48 hours, or another winner will be selected.

Winner Guidelines: 

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

 Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.

7 thoughts on “Review and Giveaway: A Lifelong Love by Gary Thomas

  1. This book sounds amazing and something that I would really love to learn more about. After 11 years we’ve fallen into the “it’s life, let’s just keep moving.” I think a marriage with a new purpose describes my marriage rather well. 🙂
    One of the best books that I’ve read on marriage was 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman. It helped me a lot to understand that my husband cares for me and shows me daily…just in different ways than I was looking for. I had the unique experience of reading Lies Women Believe and the Truth That Sets Them Free by Nancy Leigh DeMoss at the same time. I walked away understanding how so much of what I genuinely thought was my husband’s growing away from me, was really lies with Satan coupled with my own misunderstanding. I began to see how Satan was active making me think the worst of a man who truly does love me. What a difference this made in my marriage! The only complaint I had with The Lies book was that it was aimed at women and I felt like it carried enough basic information to teach the men of this damaging tactic from the enemy, but since it’s a woman’s book men wouldn’t pick it up. 🙂
    sweets_719(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Like

    1. The 5 Love Languages is a good book, and you’re right that it does help us make sense of the ways that our spouse might be demonstrating their love (even when it doesn’t feel like it) and how we can “speak” their language. I haven’t heard of the Lies book, I’ll have to look into that one 🙂

      Like

  2. I read Gary’s Sacred Search two years ago, and its a book I return too for guidance. This one sounds excellent… I like the fact that it’s more about aligning with God than adjusting the everyday-annoying behaviors. 🙂 That sells this book to me. Thank you for the giveaway!
    Faith mickeydog AT myfairpoint DOT net

    Like

    1. Since this is the second book he’s read by Gary Thomas, my husband says they have a similar feel to each other, so if you like one book by Gary Thomas, I am guessing that you would like another one.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

