Journal

October is Over!

Before I move into my October Wrap-up, don’t forget to check out the giveaway for A Lifelong Love by Gary Thomas. You can find out more about that HERE. Also, since it is a popular tradition to remember all the things to be thankful for on Thanksgiving, I want to show my thanks to all of you who visit my blog. I have a couple of giveaways planned for November and will be announcing the first one tomorrow. I don’t normally post on Saturdays, but be sure to stop by and enter.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

October brought me a bit less reading for a couple of reasons. First of all, I’ve been dedicating Wednesdays to my “Writing on Wednesday” posts, leaving fewer days for me to post book reviews. But I’ve also been writing a lot more, which has cut into my reading time. But that’s alright. It feels good to be making progress on my writing. So, here are the books that I read in October:

The suspense novels were by far my favorites this month, with a couple of exceptions. The Covered Deep by Brandy Vallance was amazing, in my opinion. The books was so entirely different from other novels I have read in the historical fiction/romance/Christian genres. It had just the right touch of mystery surrounding one of the characters that made me curious and want to keep going. Not to mention the hero and heroine of the story were quite developed. I think I fell in love with this book when I first read the synopsis, and I wasn’t disappointed.

I jumped into Patricia Bradley’s Logan Point series. Bradley blew me away with her complex mysteries (don’t worry, once you get the characters straight, you’ll be able to follow what is going on). Her novels were so much fun to try to figure out the “who did it” and the interactions between characters were fun to see. Plus, her novels involved a certain element of faith. I quickly became a fan of her books and I am looking forward to more.

Deceived was another book that I really enjoyed. It is another suspense–and it certainly had me up all night. I did not want to put this book down. The premise was well thought out and the characters in this book were amazing. If you enjoy suspense, or maybe even if you don’t, this is a book to check out.

 

November Line-Up: I’ve already gotten some of the books that I’m reading for November in the mail. I might have jumped around in excitement when I opened up a package that held Surprised by Love by Julie Lessman. She is one author I never get enough. Her stories are filled with authentic characters and complex relationships. But her books also contain some pretty strong messages about faith.

It’s also been a little while since I have read a regency novel. The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky is also on my review list for November.

Among these two, I also have a couple novels by Melody Carlson Planned and three more months of the “Year of Weddings” novella collection. I think it is looking like a good month for some enjoyable books. Plus the weather is turning colder in The Mitten, so cuddling up with a good book is becoming even more appealing (not that it wasn’t before 😉 ).

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I don’t tweet a lot but you will see when I post a new blog and I do tweet about giveaways for books that I find online or from my own blog. 

Writing: Since I started Writing on Wednesday posts, I have found so much encouragement. Authors will occasionally mention that writing is a lonely process, and I’m finding that to be true. But the encouragement I am finding in the online writing community and from people who stop by my blog is amazing, and I really appreciate it. In October, I moved from having an idea for a novel to having over 20% of my rough draft written. I’m planning to participate in NaNoWriMo, so hopefully by the end of November, that 20% will be at least 75%. 50,000 words in a month is a pretty fast rate, and while I will be pushing for hitting that, I’m going to be content with what I write even if I don’t make that goal. Any words will bring me that much closer to my goal. So if you don’t already, come visit my blog some Wednesday, I share my thoughts on what I’m working on as well as my progress. Someday I hope to share some snippets of what I’m working on, but they definitely need some polishing before I do that.

What are some of your favorite books you read this past month? What books are you most looking forward to? Do you have any writing projects you are excited about?

4 thoughts on “October is Over!

  1. Thanks for your wonderful giveaway. I’m busy starting Christmas books as I have so many that I will need to read Nov/Dec to try and whittle them down. I’m currently reading Love Finds You in the City at Christmas and A Simple Amish Christmas.

    Like

      1. I really like this one because it is two novellas. The first takes place shortly after World War II in Manhattan. The second takes places in Manhattan as well in modern times and is the grandson of the two main characters in the first novella.

        Like

Leave a Reply

