Journal

Writing on Wednesday (November 5, 2014)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

Don’t miss the TWO different giveaways going on my blog:

First, you can win a copy of A Lifelong Love by Gary Thomas. Learn more details by clicking HERE.

Second, I’m giving away a bundle of four books. Learn more by clicking HERE.

This week saw the beginning of the crazy month of NaNoWriMo. I’m shocked at how much October has helped me prepare for this. A goal of writing 500 words a day is quite different than needing to write 1,667 words a day–and that includes Saturday and Sunday. So far, I’ve kept up, although I didn’t write on Sunday, and as of now, I am actually ahead on my word count. It is an exciting place to be.

One of the things that makes NaNoWriMo so effective I think (and helpful) is that it unites such a large group of people to all focus on writing. It is a built in support network for writers. It is a great way to make writing friends and be challenged to at least start a novel (or finish or do whatever you need to do).

My Writing Goals for the month of November:

My goal is to win NaNoWriMo–50,000 words by November 30th.

How have I been doing?

Like I mentioned above, I’m actually ahead of where I need to be for NaNoWriMo. As of Day 4 (I normally write these posts on Tuesday and schedule to post on Wednesday) I have written 8,234 words in November. I’ve added nearly 10% to my novel. In fact, I crossed the 30% mark. I’ve been writing daily, as is my plan-except for Sundays. One other thing I’ve been doing, is challenging myself to write more than the minimum. Monday, I successfully challenged myself to write 3,000 words. When I hit that mark during the afternoon, I decided I could do more, and wrote an additional 2,000. I know I won’t have days like that all the time, but it is encouraging to know that it is in me to write that much. That it can be done. So if you are struggling to get in big word counts, look back at what you have been able to do. Challenge yourself to do a bit more. Then you will know you can do it. It will be encouraging and you will feel great about it. I promise!

Writing Reflections:

King1

With NaNoWriMo it is so easy to get caught up in the overarching goal. 1,667 words a day sounds doable, but when it comes to having to write that every day, it can become a challenge. Even if the 50,000 words aren’t in our sights, it is important to remember that every day, each word, sentence and paragraph does bring your novel a bit closer to completion.

Those words will eventually add up to a completed story–one with a beginning, a middle, and an end. So while it is early on in the month, if you find yourself behind (and you are participating in NaNoWriMo or working on your own goals) don’t beat yourself up over it. Tell yourself that any writing is bringing you closer to writing “The End.” Each letter you can add to your story is helping it to grow. So even if you only have one sentence in you, write it down. Come back to the story later and keep writing. You will finish it eventually.

What are your writing goals for the month?

2 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (November 5, 2014)

Leave a Reply

