Book Review

Review: An Apple for Christmas by Darlene Franklin

I don’t have to go far to find an apple orchard where I live. There are dozens of orchards around here. Fall is one of my favorite time to drive around and see all the red fruit on the trees. It’s pretty, smells wonderful, and I can anticipate all the lovely tastes.

While An Apple for Christmas takes place in Vermont, it was easy for me to imagine all the apple trees in the orchard or the taste of a Macintosh, or one of my other favorites: a red delicious. This was a wonderful afternoon read, and guess what! you can pick up an ebook copy of An Apple for Christmas for free on Amazon starting today. But hurry, because this offer only lasts until November 9!

Don’t miss the TWO different giveaways going on my blog:

First, you can win a copy of A Lifelong Love by Gary Thomas. Learn more details by clicking HERE.

Second, I’m giving away a bundle of four books. Learn more by clicking HERE.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review**

Ruby Nelson trades her job in the laboratory for teaching in a small girls’ school in Vermont. Twin sisters challenge her position—and their father captivates her imagination. Will the orchard grower graft Ruby onto his heart?

Darlene Franklin’s An Apple For Christmas was a wonderful read. It had just the right amount of story for a novella. It also had two charming and mischievous little girls and a family as unique as their names (all named after apples 🙂 ).

Ruby is a science-minded woman who has found herself in a teaching position of not only a classroom of girls, but helping Mac Cortland understand his daughters just a bit better. As it would turn out, Ruby just might be what the little family is missing.

With a shared love of all things apples, Ruby finds herself dreaming of joining this little family, but a change of heart needs to take place. Faith, love, and apples all combine in this novella to tell a sweet Christmas tale.

I would love to hear from you! Do you have a favorite kind of apple?

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

8 thoughts on “Review: An Apple for Christmas by Darlene Franklin

  1. I’ve always been fond of the Pink Lady. I couldn’t even begin to tell you the difference between this one and all the other red apples except the use of two of my favorite words, “Pink” and “Lady” 🙂
    Seriously, Why I’m not in love with the “pink dress cover” is beyond me!! Lol

    Like

    1. Too funny!!!! You really need to just read the book, you might appreciate that “pink dress cover” a bit more… read it while munching on a Pink Lady (I actually haven’t ever had one of those).

      Like

      1. I was thinking about that book today. My copy disappears tomorrow. I’ll have to wait till the new year most likely before I attempt to read it. I plan to do some Christmas reading next.

        Like

Leave a Reply

