Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (November 11, 2014)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

Illness has a way of goofing up plans. This past week has been an interesting blend of highly productive days and the, well, not so productive. I’m blaming my immunity system for that though. It didn’t conquer whatever germ decided to wreak havoc with me. But, as I’m starting to feel better, I’m looking over the goals and word counts I need to make to get back on track with NaNoWriMo.

My Writing Goals for the month of November:

My goal is to win NaNoWriMo–50,000 words by November 30th.

How have I been doing?

I had a really good writing day this past Friday and wrote roughly 4,500 words. My tally for November is 13,144 words written, but for NaNoWriMo I should be at 20,000 words. I have a bit of catching up to do after having skipped writing for a couple of days because of being sick. SO maybe today or tomorrow I will have to start finding that writing groove again. I’m not so far behind that I can’t catch up, but I will have to stay on top of it to catch back up.

Writing Reflections:

L'Amour1

Through I October I challenged myself to write daily. November has seen a similar challenge through NaNoWriMo. So far, I’ve learned how much easier it is to write when it is something that you are spending time doing regularly. It is still work, but it doesn’t seem like such a forced activity as it did a little over a month ago.

This week has been a bit discouraging. Friday, I wrote nearly 5,000 words. I had plans to write 2-3 thousand on Monday, but my body decided to be sick instead. Between having a headache and just trying to get over whatever bug was preying on my system, I didn’t even attempt any time at my laptop. Tuesday didn’t see much on the writing front either. However, I’m optimistic that once I turn that faucet on perhaps later today or tomorrow, the writing will flow out onto the page.

What are your writing goals for the month?

7 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (November 11, 2014)

  1. Another great quote 🙂 I pray the water will soon flow from your spicket.
    Lol Ok, so I said “Spicket” but the spell checker didn’t recognize the word. So I looked it up and I find this interesting map that shows where people live that use either “spigot” or “spicket.” As it turns out, spigot is more popular, however, there are a lot of SPICKETS here in middle Tennessee too. Lol
    http://www4.uwm.edu/FLL/linguistics/dialect/staticmaps/q_41.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

