Book Review

Review: The Movement of Crowns Series by Nadine C. Keels

A few month’s ago, Nadine C. Keels contacted me about reviewing her novella Love Unfeigned. I really enjoyed the story. So when she asked me to review The Movement of Crowns series, I was intrigued. The idea of writing a series set in a made up land and creating the traditions needed is quite a feat. There is a small part of my heart that truly enjoys stories in those types of settings.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review**

The Movement of Crowns, an epic fiction series of royalty, romance, war, and hope. The Movement of Crowns: At the point when kingdoms’ ideas of humanity differ… The nation of Diachona is on the threshold of war, and Constance, coming into power under her father the king, deems this an inopportune time to be falling in love with one Commander Alexander. The Movement of Rings: A time to remember what lies deeper than one’s fears… With the rise of unrest in the Mundayne empire, will the heart of a beautiful imperial servant, Naona, survive intact enough for an unforeseen chance at love with a foreign man? The Movement of Kings: The order of things, the nature of succession, and a nation that must march on… Can the young ruler of the Eubeltic Realm handle the rise of domestic and colonial crises, the bereavement of his family, and his curious attraction to a councilman’s unassuming daughter, or is everything in this king’s untried hands on the verge of falling apart?

This was a series of novellas that I found intriguing from the synopsis. The series took me quite awhile to really feel interested in. It felt a bit slow and descriptive for the amount of action that occurred. There were a few moments where I found there to be enough going on that my interest grew a bit. As a reader, I wish that there was a bit more of the faster paced moments to draw me in and keep my interest in the story–not to mention make me anxious to know what happens next.

The setting of the stories were created well as were the characters. All of the main characters had enough depth to make them realistic and come alive in my imagination. Their emotions felt real, and that is important to feel connected to a story.

Keels is a talented writer overall. This series is demonstrative of a very meticulous and deliberate word choice to convey the story. In some moments, the style comes off as eloquent, but other times it makes the reading pace a bit slower than I typically enjoy.

I would love to hear from you! Feel free to add to the discussion by leaving a comment.

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

2 thoughts on “Review: The Movement of Crowns Series by Nadine C. Keels

Leave a Reply

