Journal

Review: The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky

The snow has really started coming down this past weekend. Saturday, hubby and I worked to finish getting things put away for the winter and Sunday we woke up to a winter wonderland. It stopped for a little while on Sunday, but it has been snowing nearly non-stop since then. The forecast is showing constant snow for a couple days yet as well. I think winter has arrived.

This time of year, I don’t mind so much though. It is a wonderful time to snuggle up with a warm blanket, hot beverage, cat on my lap, and a book to pass the time with. For a couple of days, I have been swept away to London with Carrie Turansky’s Daughter of Highland Hall. It’s been the perfect book for these cold days.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review**

What if the title, the estate, the life of security and splendor… what if it isn’t enough? Strong-willed and beautiful, debutante Katherine Ramsey feels ready to take the London social season by storm, and she must. Her family estate, Highland Hall, has been passed to older male cousin Sir William Ramsey, and her only means of securing her future is to make a strong debut and find a proper husband. With her all-knowing and meddling aunt as a guide, Katherine is certain to attract suitors at the lavish gatherings, sparkling with Great Britain’s elite. When a shocking family scandal sidelines Katherine, forcing her out of the social spotlight, she keeps a low profile, volunteering with the poor in London’s East End. Here Katherine feels free from her predictable future, and even more so as a friendship with medical student Jonathan Foster deepens and her faith in God grows. But when Katherine is courted anew by a man of wealth and position, dreams of the life she always thought she wanted surface again. Torn between tradition and the stirrings in her heart for a different path, she must decide whom she can trust and love—and if she will choose a life serving others over one where she is served.

It has been quite some time since I read Turansky’s The Governess of Highland Hall. Initially, it made it a bit difficult to jump into the story again. The Daughter of Highland Hall picks up not too long after the first novel of the series ends. Fortunately, there were enough little references to help me remember some of the more important moments from the first book.

I’m always intrigued when a sequel’s protagonist was a bit more, well, less likeable in the first book. The main character, Katherine Ramsey (Kate), was not the easiest person to like in the first book. But in this one, I thought she was fantastic! Kate is a character who is caught between what she thinks she wants for her life, what others want for her, and what society thinks. In the midst of this, family scandal and gossip help her to realize that perhaps, following her heart might be the better path for herself.

The back cover hints at “shocking family scandal,” and from early on, I picked up on a number of references as to what it might be. I even thought I had it figured out. But then, something even bigger happens that I would have never expected. I can appreciate a novel that can do that. But despite a few “big” moments in the book, I did find myself a bit bored with the story at times. Never enough to put the book down, but enough to consider if there was something else I should be doing.

Overall, I enjoyed the book. I’m looking forward to the third novel that is expected to be released October 2015. It will be a long wait…

I would love to hear from you! Feel free to add to the discussion by posting in the comment section.

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

2 thoughts on “Review: The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky

  1. Nice job on the review! I’ve had this book on my radar since it came out. I’m need to get to the first one before reading this one. Shockingly behind on some authors! Thanks for the honest review!

    Mary

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by. I would definitely recommend reading the first book prior to this one. There is enough of the first story that is picked back up in The Daughter of Highland Hall. The first book was a great read as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

