Journal

Writing on Wednesday (November 19, 2014)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

Last week I was sick. This week was supposed to be really busy, but the weather has turned nasty and things are getting cancelled. It should be a good week for writing, but it hasn’t been. I’ve been trying to do some catch-up on housework type things that had fallen behind when I was sick and just get back into the groove of things. It hasn’t been working out so well.

My Writing Goals for the month of November:

My goal is to win NaNoWriMo–50,000 words by November 30th.

Plan a number of new scenes for my WIP and write 500 words daily (Mon-Fri).

How have I been doing?

This week, I have not gotten any writing in. I think the idea of not winning NaNoWriMo has kind of made me lose a bit of my ambion. Between that, being sick, having a packed schedule, playing catch-up amongst a few other things, writing has been a small inkling in the back of my mind. Something I know I need to do but I haven’t been doing.

However, with that said, I’m thinking over where I want to be at by the end of December. It won’t be too long and I will have to make some new goals for myself. I know the novel needs some work in the plotting department and adding in some more scenes. So, I think that is going to be the focus for the end of November. I’m going to move back to small word counts, just to keep in that daily habit and focus more on some of the planning I need to do.

Writing Reflections:

image

This quote perfectly captures how I’ve been feeling this week. Actually, it really stood out to me. When searching for a quote for this week’s post, this was the first that I found.

I honestly haven’t felt like writing. So I haven’t. But that needs to change. I know that once I start writing again, the actual act will become easier. It really is difficult to move back into that when you haven’t been doing it for a little over a week.

What are your writing goals for the month?

3 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (November 19, 2014)

  1. I love that quote- it reminds me of the Margaret Atwood quote: “If I waited for perfection, I would never write a word.” My writing goals for the month are to write on a daily basis and have a good portion of my story done–even if I don’t win NaNoWriMo. I think your goal is great- before NaNo my daily word goal was also 500.

    Like

    1. That was my goal throughout the month of October. I usually exceeded it by quite a bit. I’ve had a few really good days in November, but after losing a week of daily writing from being sick, winning NaNoWriMo just isn’t feasible. Either way, I’ve seen a lot of progress on my novel.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

