Book Review · Journal

No-More-Vember

I’m kind of okay with seeing the end of November. While I don’t like wishing time to go by, November has brought some challenges in both my reading lists and in my writing. While, I still read about the same amount, I read quite a few novellas and I had a couple of books I planned to review, but opted not to, because, well, I just wasn’t enjoying them at all and did not read enough of them to feel that I could write a fair review for them. With that said, here are the novels that I read and reviewed on my blog for the month of November:

I started the month off with a book that was everything I was hoping that it would be: Flight of the Earls by Michael K. Reynolds. The book was filled with rich history (everything from Ireland’s potato famine to immigration in the U.S.), complex characters, and a storyline that really pushed the story forward. The book is the first in a series. I am quite anxious to start on the second book of the series, and fortunately, it is sitting on my bookshelf.

Dear Mr. Knightley is probably a book that I’m surprised to admit is making it into my favorites for the month. When I started it, I struggled to become interested in the story. I kept putting it down and picking it back up, and I’m glad I did. Eventually, my heart was invested in this story about a girl who hides behind her favorite literary figures. It is a unique story and by the end, I felt so rewarded for sticking through the struggles of starting it.

Finally, since Julie Lessman is one of my favorite authors, Surprised by Love was everything I had hoped that it would be. I adored the novel and it was fun to visit the McClare family again–although a bit sad because this is the final book in this trilogy. But, as one can expect for Lessman’s novels, this one was just as filled with high emotions, passionate characters, and a beautiful message.

December Line-Up: Over the last week, I have been selecting books to review on my blog. There are so many good books being released this time of year.

The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen is one of the books I am most excited for. Klassen is one of my favorite authors and her novels are so historically detailed and she has some of the most fascinating characters with unique storylines.

As usual, I can hardly wait for my copy of Jody Hedlund’s latest novel, Love Unexpected. Her new series of books are inspired by Michigan’s rich lighthouse history. I can’t wait to see the historical facts that she weaves into these novels. If you haven’t yet, there is a novella that you can pick up for free on Amazon that goes along with this new series of books. You can read my review of it here or just pick up your own copy of the novella here.

Finally, I will be wrapping up this years collection of A Year of Weddings Novellas that Zondervan has been releasing. The books have been a wonderful way for me to sample a variety of authors that I have not read before as well as read a few from authors I have already enjoyed. Plus, I was excited to learn that Zondervan is continuing with a new “Year of Weddings” series, and I will be reviewing the novella for December, Love at Mistletoe Inn by Cindy Kirk. This will be a new author for me and I’m anxious to jump into this new collection.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I don’t tweet a lot but you will see when I post a new blog and I do tweet about giveaways for books that I find online or from my own blog. 

Writing: Writing and I had a love/hate relationship this month. The beginning of November started out strong where writing was concerned. I was getting in some healthy daily word counts, even a few days where I hit 5,000 words. Then due to being sick and a busy week, writing took a backseat–so much so that I did get any writing done. So I guess I’ve accidently taken a break from writing. The latter part of the month I’ve been working on planning out more scenes that seem to be lacking so far. I’m currently a third of the way to my 100,000 word goal and at a point where I need to honestly reassess that mark. I don’t want to waste my time writing unnecessary fluff just so I can hit a particular word goal. I would rather have intentional words creating quality scenes. In the long run, that will be more beneficial to me. So at this point, I think I might be looking at having more of an 80,000 word rough draft, which (excitingly) brings me really close to the halfway point.

What are some of your favorite books you read this past month? What books are you most looking forward to? Do you have any writing projects you are excited about?

4 thoughts on “No-More-Vember

  1. I’m in the middle of THE BOOK OF NAMES by D. Barkley Briggs – I wasn’t sure that I’d like it when I read the backcover blurb: seemed a bit too YA fantasy. But it is a really interesting, creative story! Enjoying it immensely. 🙂 And I’m in the editing stage of a children’s book right now – really looking forward to that one’s release.

    Like

    1. I enjoy the occasional YA fantasy–more than the fantasy novels written for adults, actually. It’s been awhile since I’ve read one, but The Book of Names does sound interesting. I’m glad you are enjoying it.

      A children’s book? That sounds fun. Did you find it more of a challenge to write than a regular novel?

      Like

      1. Yes, it WAS fun! It’s a quirky kind of children’s book – also for the young-at-heart. 🙂 It was challenging but really enjoyable to write. My husband illustrated it, so it was a lot of fun to collaborate on what each scene and character should look like.

        Like

Leave a Reply

