Book Review

Review: Year of Weddings- Love At Mistletoe Inn by Cindy Kirk

I started reading the Year of Weddings Novella collection a bit late. I had a bunch of catch-up to do, but I managed to get through them all. While I enjoyed some more than others, as a whole, I loved the collection. So, I was thrilled to see that Zondervan was releasing a second year of the Year of Weddings Novellas collection.

If you interested in the first series, here are the links to my reviews–I reviewed three novellas at a time according to their seasons:

Winter (December, January, February)

Spring (March, April, May)

Summer (June, July, August)

Fall (September, October, November)

Now I am quite excited to start reviewing this new series, and I’m planning to try read and review them as they are released.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

**I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**

Sometimes the road to happiness is paved with youthful mistakes. Hope Prentiss didn’t go to the Harmony High School senior prom. Instead, she and John Burke drove to Boise and got married. At eighteen. But when Hope panicked after saying “I do,” the mail-order preacher assured her he just wouldn’t send in the paperwork. No forms, no marriage, no problem. Right? Well . . . Now, ten years later, Hope discovers that her prom-night wedding counted—and, as fate would have it, the jilted John Burke has just ridden back into town. And he’s staying with her Aunt Verna at the inn where she and Hope host weddings. Though Hope thinks she wants an annulment, a little time with John makes her think twice . . . and emotions between the more-or-less Mr. and Mrs. Burke reach a boiling point a soon as they get a moment alone. With annulment out the window, Hope finds herself staring in the face of a divorce. But after spending some time with John and helping plan a Christmas wedding for a mystery couple, Hope begins to wonder if she really wants a divorce … or a real wedding of her own.

This novella was quite a bit different from what I was expecting. There were things I really liked, and other things, I really didn’t. First off, the characters were wonderful. I loved how Hope was very meticulous and wanted everything to go according to her plans while John was a bit more “go with the flow.” The two were the perfect match for one another. I also loved this idea of a couple of madly in love high schoolers eloping, deciding they made a mistake, and then finding out years later they were still married. What a fun plot–and an interesting twist!

The part that I took issue with in this novella is a scene where Hope does something out of character–at least for the way that the reader has seen her portrayed. This same scene is also the reason why divorce comes up in the story instead of an annulment. I understand that it complicates the relationship and raises the stakes, but for a Christian novella, I’m just not so sure it needed to be included. It was the biggest issue I had with this one, and the one caution I have about this novella.

Otherwise, this novel has a few fun scenes of watching love bloom again between the main characters as well as a few fun secondary characters who could easily have their own stories, I think.

I would love to hear from you! Please feel free to add to the discussion by leaving your thoughts in the comment section.

For more on the author or this book, please check out the following links:

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

5 thoughts on “Review: Year of Weddings- Love At Mistletoe Inn by Cindy Kirk

Leave a Reply

