Journal

Writing on Wednesday (December 3, 2014)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

Last month did not go nearly as planned. I had hoped to win NaNoWriMo, but then I spent a week sick and then I was quite busy the following week. That time of non-writing taught me a couple of things, though. First of all, it is a lot harder to get back into writing after a couple of weeks of not doing it. Second, some of my momentum wore off. So, rather than sitting down and trying to find that writing groove, I’m taking the month of December to read through what I have. I figure I have about half of the novel completed. With that in mind, I have the beginning scenes done, a large portion of middle scenes done, and some final scenes done. But I know there are things that are missing. Since there is a bit of a love story within the pages, the romantic tension isn’t where it needs to be. My main characters also could probably use some more developing–I know who they are, but the readers might not get to know too much about them at this point.

My Writing Goals for the month of December:

Read through my WIP. Fix any major problems, look for plot holes, discover missing scenes, continue plotting.

How have I been doing?

So far, I haven’t had much time to work towards my goal yet, as Monday was the first day that I started reading through my text. But, I have a printed copy hanging out in a binder, and I’ve marked up quite a bit on the first few pages. The first scene I’m going through is one that I used my dictation software on. Here is a lesson to myself: revise for readability after using dictation software. I was so caught up on my word counts, that I never thought to go back through and fix problems with punctuation or where the software thought I said something but in reality I said something else. At times it’s like playing a game of Mad Gab with myself.

Writing Reflections:

white1

I really struggled with reaching a point of giving myself permission to start reading through my draft. The main reason I wanted to avoid it at this point is that I have a very critical inner editor. When I read what I wrote, I know that it isn’t my best. If I’m honest, it’s horrible. No one should ever read it. But I also know, that I have the thought on the page. With that single thought, I can break it, mold it, color it, do whatever I need to with it to make it the best thought I can. Some sentences need to be simplified and others need to reach a higher level of complexity. I look forward to the rewriting process. But for now, I need to remember not to get too carried away with it. If something comes to me, I will rewrite it or add to it. But my main purpose at this time is to write the story. Rewriting will come later, and I’m honestly looking forward to it.

What are your writing goals for the month?

Leave a Reply

