Journal

December is Nearly Done

I’m posting my December wrap-up blog a bit early this month. Due to Christmas being next week, and New Year’s the following week, plus a busy schedule, I am planning to step away from reviewing books on my blog for the rest of the month to enjoy spending the extra time with family. But there will be a couple of blog posts that you can expect to pop up over the next couple of weeks.

  • December 29, you can come back and check out some of my favorite books that I read in 2014. It’s been a pretty good year, as far as I’m concerned, and it has been a challenge to select my favorites.
  • December 31, I’ll be posting a blog that highlights books that are expected to be released in 2015. I’ll share the ones that I am most looking forward to and hope to review in the coming year.
  • January 2, I’ll be sharing my goals for the new year. Hopefully you will share some of your own goals with me and we can encourage each other.

Since I only planned to review books for 2 weeks in December, I haven’t read as much as I typically do. But here are the books I reviewed. As always, you can click on the links to find out more about the book, my thoughts, and how to connect with the author.

There are so many good things I could say about the majority of these books that I read over the first couple of weeks. But here are some highlights:

Love Unexpected by Jody Hedlund met all of my expectations. If you enjoy some unique history, Jody’s new series of novels are something you may enjoy looking into. This series is set in a variety of Michigan’s lighthouses. This particular story had a wonderful love story starting from a marriage of convenience. It also had a fantastic message waiting to be discovered between its covers!

Julie Klassen’s latest novel, The Secret of Pembrooke Park, was quite hard to put down. It’s her longest book so far, so be warned that you will probably want to have some time available if you decide to pick it up. I loved every moment of the book. It had some surprises and mystery in the pages.

Finally, A Most Inconvenient Marriage is quite a fun read. The book has a colorful cast of characters and the story filled with serious and funny moments alike. It was an interesting twist to the typical “marriage of convenience” stories.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I don’t tweet a lot but you will see when I post a new blog and I do tweet about giveaways for books that I find online or from my own blog. 

Writing: For a couple of reasons, I chose to spend the month away from actual “writing.” I’ve still been working on my WIP, though. November was not the best writing month for me, and I found it hard to get back into the groove of daily writing. For one thing, I knew I needed a number of additional scenes in my novel. Scenes that help develop the characters a bit more and that would add tension to the plot have been lacking, but I’ve been unsure of where to put them. I also discovered, that my dictation software has left me with a lot of fixing up to do–primarily for readability. These two things led me to decide to read through my WIP with what I have and to assess where it stands.

Unfortunately, December has turned out to be busier than expected, so I have not been spending nearly as much time on that WIP as I had hoped. So that’s a priority at the start of the new year. But I’m going to stop there, since I will be posting another blog at a later date that will discuss my future writing goals.

What are some of your favorite books you read this past month? What books are you most looking forward to? Do you have any writing projects you are excited about?

8 thoughts on “December is Nearly Done

  1. I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the Price of Privilege series (Jessica Dotta). I read the first one last spring and really enjoyed it, but I’ve not had time to read the second one – yet! And the third one is releasing soon. 🙂

    Looking forward to hearing about what books you’re looking forward to reading in the months ahead! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m reading Light Upon Light right now and loving it. Also a book by Martin Lloyd Jones on John 14. I’m amazed, D.L. Kamstra, at your productivity. You crank out the blog posts like crazy, so you must read constantly. Good that you are giving yourself some time with your family for Christmas!

    Like

  3. My favorite book so far this month is Beyond All Measure by Dorothy Love. I love a good Civil War drama and, in this case, a post war drama. But there’s still some time left and I hope to get in a couple other really great books. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

