Journal

Coming in 2015…

I always love hearing about new books. There is something exciting about knowing that an author whose stories you adore will be releasing another one. Already, there are a variety of books that will be released in 2015 that have been popping up, and I can hardly wait for most of them. So, as 2014 is coming to a close, I thought it would be wonderful to look to see what stories 2015 will have in store (at least through August). The books listed in this posting are all from traditional publishers.

Click on the book covers to be taken to the Amazon page for the book.

January

January 6: Like a Flower in Bloom by Siri Mitchell

It has been awhile since I’ve read a novel by Siri Mitchell, but I do remember that she is an exquisite storyteller. This novel sounds like it will be one in which the heroine will struggle between the desires of her heart and following expectations, all amidst the rules of society and what is deemed appropriate or inappropriate for her. I’m excited to immerse myself in the pages of one of Mitchell’s novels once again. Oh, and can I just take a moment to point out how lovely the cover is?

February

February 3: Love on the Mend by Karen Witemeyer

I don’t know about you, but I love Karen’s books! They are injected with just enough humor to be lighthearted, and yet they always have a good message about faith. Her characters are so fun to get to know as well. Though this one is only a novella, I’m sure it will be just as wonderful as her novels. Not to mention, that this one is a follow-up to her novel, Full Steam Ahead.

 

February 3: Remember the Lilies by Liz Tolsma

In Remember the Lilies, Liz Tolsma will take readers into a little-known part of WWII history yet again. This is a book I’m really looking forward to after having read Tolsma’s previous WWII novels.

February 24: How to Catch a Prince by Rachel Hauck

Rachel Hauck’s Royal Wedding Series can’t help but make me think about our fascination with England’s monarchy. Her first novel of the series, Once upon a Prince reminded me so much of the Royal Wedding a few years ago. There is something so magical about these books, and they are well written. If you haven’t picked any of these up and you are a fan of royalty, weddings, and anything resembling a Disney story, I think you will like these books. The story of this one seems quite a bit different from the past two, but it also sounds magically wonderful!

March

March 1: Spy of Richmond by Jocelyn Green

Earlier this year, I finally read Wedded to War. I was impressed with the history in the pages and the story the novel told. While I’ve yet to read the books that com between Wedded to War and this book, I’m still excited for it, as I’m sure it will be a fascinating read.

 

March 1: The Outlaw Takes a Bride by Susan Page Davis

This sounds like a love story filled with secrets, all wrapped up in a mail-order bride/marriage of convenience and western setting. Amidst all of that, I also think this novel will have some wonderful themes incorporated into it’s pages.  I think this will be a book that I will really enjoy this year.

March 3: An Uncertain Choice by Jody Hedlund

There are a few things that make me quite excited for this book. First of all, it is written by Jody Hedlund (and it is no secret on here that she is one of my favorite authors. Second, it is a young adult novel–which I don’t read nearly as much as I would like. Third, the story sounds quite unique, and it has a medieval setting, something else I don’t read enough of.  When I first heard she was writing something so different than her normal stories, I was quite interested. And now that I’ve seen the cover and read the synopsis, I’m convinced this will be a wonderful book!

March 31: The Creole Princess by Beth White

The Pelican Bride by Beth White was a wonderful visit to the Colonial South, a time in history that for whatever reason, we don’t pay too much attention to. White’s newest novel will take us there again, but this time it appears the war will be heating up. Novels that visit these little-known pieces of history are some of my favorites, so it isn’t any wonder why I will be looking forward to this one!

March 31: Buried Secrets by Irene Hannon

Earlier this year, I read my first Irene Hannon novel. It kept me up all night. I just needed to keep on turning those pages to find out what would happen. Irene Hannon is a wonderful author who knows how to keep turning the tension up and raising the stakes just a bit more. She also knows how to write some wonderfully complex characters. I’m looking forward to starting a new series by her, and I’m sure this one will be keeping me up all night as well. I’ll have to remember to start it early on in the day.

April

April 1: Double Cross by DiAnn Mills

Firewall was the first adventure I went on led by DiAnn Mills. And it was action packed! The novel read like a regular action movie with guns and car race scenes. I was so surprised and enthralled with a novel that was so different than I was anticipating. Double Cross sounds like it is a novel that will involve the same thrills and intensity as the novel before it. This is a novel I don’t want to miss out on.

April 7: A Sparrow in Terezin by Kristy Cambron

I was drawn into reading The Butterfly and the Violin by debut author Kristy Cambron this last year because of it’s beautiful cover. The story between the covers was even more beautiful. April can’t come soon enough for me when it comes to this book. According to the synopsis, this novel will pick up the story of modern-day Sera James as she is looking forward to her wedding. But woven throughout, will be the story of another woman who is experiencing the holocaust. I expect that this will be another hauntingly beautiful story that words won’t be able to describe.

April 21: The Wood’s Edge by Lori Benton

I haven’t read too much of what this novel is yet about, but the cover is fabulous! I discovered Lori Benton through reading The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn. The books was a unique tale in my opinion and one of my favorites of 2014. I hope to also get a hold of a copy of Burning Sky to read this coming year, but I’ll still be looking forward to this new release.

May

May 5: Tiffany Girl by Deeanne Gist

Deeanne Gist’s novels are always filled with fun characters, compelling storylines, and a hefty dose of authenticity. I tend to find that her characters act with a certain amount of human-ness despite however quirky they may be. From the synopsis, this books sounds like it will be filled with the wonderful types of characters I’ve learned to expect from Gist. It is also the third novel in her series of books set in and around the 1893 World’s Fair in Chicago. I’m sure this book will not disappoint!

May 5: Until the Harvest by Sarah Loudin Thomas

Sarah Loudin Thomas wrote a wonderful debut novel this past year, Miracle in a Dry Season. This coming year will see the release of her Sophomore novel, Until the Harvest. This novel promises to take us back into Appalachia with another story that is sure to touch the heart. I’m looking forward to reading another book by Thomas, as I’m sure it will be just as as wonderful as the first one.

May 12: To Win Her Favor by Tamera Alexander

I think the first novel I read by Tamera Alexander was To Whisper Her Name, the first novel set at the Belle Mead Plantation. The story was so beautiful, just like all the rest of Alexander’s books. I quickly became a fan and read every book of hers I could get my hands on. Now, I have to wait for every new book, but they are definitely worth the wait.

June

June 1: Five Brides by Eva Marie Everson

What an interesting novel this one sounds to be. Set in the 1950’s, 5 women pool their money to buy a wedding dress, but none of them have any prospects for marriage in their future. I can’t wait to read this one. I always wanted to stay out of bridal shops until I was engaged for fear of finding the “perfect” dress without the groom. But I couldn’t imagine doing it with 4 other women.

June 2: A Worthy Pursuit by Karen Witemeyer

I expected this book to be another great novel by Karen Witemeyer. A bounty hunter, a headmistress, children and some reasons for sparks to fly sounds like a wonderful combination for a great book. I love the cover of this book too. If you haven’t yet taken the time to check this book out, be sure to take a moment to look up the synopsis for this book. I’m sure it will be a great summer read.

June 2: Hearts Made Whole by Jody Hedlund

Love Unexpected, the first novel in the Beacons of Hope Series, introduced us to Ryan Chambers. At the end of the novel, I was quite curious to see what would become of him, so I was thrilled to see his name pop up in the synopsis of this book. Set in one of Michigan’s historic lighthouses, this story will capture the beauty of this state and some of the rich history surrounding these landmarks. As usual, I’m quite excited to read this book by Jody Hedlund.

June 2: Now and Forever

I don’t read a lot of lighthearted novels, but I never want to miss a book by Mary Connealy. Her westerns typically take the reader on a rollicking fun time, and her new series is everything I’ve come to expect from her. From eccentric characters to adventurous plots, her new series follow the Wilde sisters and their attempts to pass themselves off as men as they homestead their land. This stories sees one of the sisters into a marriage of convenience that is sure to make for a wonderful story.

June 2: Love’s Rescue by Christine Johnson

I love novels about women who try to be what is expected of them. That is the precise struggle the heroine of Christine Johnson’s newest novel faces. From the synopsis, this sounds like it will be a wonderful book that will touch the heart as well as be a compelling novel to read.

July

July 7: Gone Without a Trace by Patricia Bradley

The Logan Point Series by Patricia Bradley blew me away with the number of mysteries that interacted with one another in the stories. The first book I read by Bradley made her one of my favorites when it comes to suspense and mysteries. The novels were hard to put down. Her newest book sounds like it will pick up on the story of someone who has been mentioned as having disappeared in the first books. I’m thrilled to find out the story behind this disappearance and trying to solve this mystery with the characters.

July 7: A Bride at Last by Melissa Jagears

Melissa Jagears novels usually seem to have something in common: they are tales about a mail-order bride scenario that doesn’t go according to plan. This one follows in the same footsteps, but from the synopsis, I think it might end up being my favorite novel by her yet. Click on the cover to read the synopsis and consider adding this book to your “to-read” list.

July 7: The Curiosity Keeper by Sarah E. Ladd

Mystery, love story, and two people from different social tiers. The Curiosity Keeper by Sarah E. Ladd promises to be a wonderful book in my opinion. From the synopsis, it sounds like it will be a unique story and will have quite a bit of story to tell. Plus, this is yet another novel that has a wonderful cover to look at while we wait for it.

July 14: Among the Fair Magnolias

I love a good novella collection, and with the authors involved in this one, this is sure to be a wonderful one. Tamera Alexander, Shelley Gray, Dorothy Love, and Elizabeth Musser join together to tell “Four Southern Love Stories.” I haven’t seen too many novellas, if any at all, by these authors, so this collection will be a real treat. Not to mention a stunning cover to look at while we wait for this book to be released.

August

August 4: Through Waters Deep by Sarah Sundin

It will be a long wait for this book! “Sarah Sundin takes readers to the tense months before the US entered WWII. Readers will encounter German U-boats and torpedoes, along with the explosive power of true love, in this hopeful and romantic story.” That one line from the synopsis encompasses everything I could hope for in one of Sundin’s novels. I’m looking forward to being immersed in this era of history once again, and to watch another love story unfold.

August 4: Not By Sight by Kate Breslin

While I haven’t yet read Kate Breslin’s debut novel, this one caught my eye with it’s stunning cover. Set in WWI this promises to be a wonderful historical novel. The synopsis has me intrigued, that’s for sure!

4 thoughts on “Coming in 2015…

  1. The one book I definitely want to read is Sarah Sundin’s Through Waters Deep. She never disappoints! I also really loved Kate Breslin’s debut novel so much! I can’t wait to read her next book. Interesting list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

