Journal

A New Year, Some New Goals

I hope you all had a wonderful New Years.

There is something about this time of year that makes a lot of people look back over the year and wonder why they didn’t do more. Then they look to the future and resolve to do something to become something better or to experience something new.

I don’t mind setting resolutions, but most of the time they always seem vague. It’s easy to say that by the next year you want to lose weight, or pay down some debt, or be a better person. But how are you planning to do any of those things? That is where a lot of people lose sight of their goals I think.

Last year, my husband and I started setting SMART goals for ourselves. If you haven’t heard of this idea, SMART stands for: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Timely. Basically, it is structuring your goals in a way that you set up a system to make them.

Unfortunately, I didn’t meet many of my goals from last year. But you know what? I did a lot more to get closer to meeting them then I have in previous years, and that is something. I can be a bit overly ambitious and that was part of my problem last year.

But for now, I thought I would share with you the goals I have for myself this year, and how I hope to achieve them.

Goal 1: Finish rough draft of Joy Comes in the Morning. If you are new around here, this is a novel that I’ve been working on for a few months now. I’m about halfway through writing it. I plan to spend the majority of this month reading through it and doing some plotting. By the end of the month, I will have some direction on where I need to add more scenes and then I will be pushing forward to reaching the ending. I have more goals set in place for getting this novel completed and hopefully to a point where I met try getting it published. I will keep you up to date in that area in my Writing on Wednesday posts.

Goal 2: Attend a writer’s conference. This one is a bit contingent on the first goal. Last October there was a conference I wanted to attend, but attending a conference is going to be a luxury expense for me, and I need to demonstrate that I am serious about writing. So finishing a complete rough draft of a novel is what it will take. 

Goal 3: Finish off Second Chances. Second Chances is novel/novella I haven’t talked about too much lately. It was planned as a novel, and then ended up being novella length. It’s been sitting on a shelf for quite awhile now and my thoughts keep drifting to it now. So, my plan here is to revise it, polish it and just generally work on it. Can I take the idea and form it into a novel still? Or is it better as a novella length piece? I also need to decide what I want to do with it. I have ideas for a couple of other stories that go along with it, so I could go in that direction or just leave it alone. Either way I want to share it whether that means posting it on the blog, self-publishing it as an ebook, or pursue other publication with it. 

Those are my three goals for this year. I hope that I can accomplish them early enough to set some other goals for myself and go beyond what I had planned. But if I can do just those three things, I will be quite content with 2015.

So, what about you? What goals or resolutions do you have for yourself in 2015?

Leave a Reply

