Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (January 7, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

December turned out to be a wonderful break both on the writing front, reading front, and blogging front. Sometimes we get so caught up in routines that we lose the excitement over some of the things we enjoy most. For myself, I feel a bit more rejuvenated and ready to take some steps to get my novel closer to completion for the rough draft.

My Writing Goals for the Month of January:

Read through my WIP. Fix any major problems, look for plot holes, discover missing scenes, continue plotting.

How have I been doing?

Well, I started to actively work on my novel a bit at the beginning of December and am just not picking it up again this past Monday. It is a wonderful advantage to have such fresh eyes on it. I’m hopeful that I will be able to identify the problem areas and polish the “good” parts even more.

Writing Reflections:

Tree Quote

Writing is an interesting process. I am finding that one of the most challenging parts is breaking my main characters, but it must be done. I found the above quote recently, and it is humorous, but captures what writers must accomplish in their stories for it to be any good at all. Our characters need to find themselves in a situation that they don’t really know how to get out of. Then we need to keep throwing things at them. Sometimes hurting them and sometimes just causing something unexpected to happen. Those things might make them lose their balance, cause a bruise, or even cut open some skin. But those stones are the things that make the story. They are opportunities for the main character to respond and retaliate. They shape who that character can become. But eventually, towards those closing pages, we can help that character climb out of the tree, and help them to be okay. After all, they will be better for all the things they endured.

What are your writing goals for the month?

3 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (January 7, 2015)

  1. That’s wonderful writing advice. And I love the quote! Something I learned, when the character is comfortable, the reader suffers. When the character suffers, the reader is satisfied. 🙂 Love your readers more than your characters. And like you said, we can coddle the character at the end of the story. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

