Journal

Mark of Distinction by Jessica Dotta

When it comes to book series, some of my favorites are the ones that follow the same main character throughout the multiple books. The Price of Privilege series is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. The depth of the books and the way the plot keeps moving makes me glad that I have waited until I can read the three books straight through. It didn’t take long after finishing the first that I decided to pick up the second, and not much will pass before I start carrying that third book around reading it.

**This is a novel from my personal collection. I am not being compensated for this review**

 

London is said to be the glittering jewel of society, a world unto itself—but to Julia Elliston it is a city of shadows. Her life is swiftly dissolving into scandal. And in Victorian society, even a whisper of scandal—substantiated or not—can be the death of a young woman’s reputation.

Now under the watchful eye of Lord Roy Pierson, one of most influential men in England, Julia begrudgingly accepts his protection. But Chance Macy’s power is far-reaching as well, and he is eager to assert his claim over her.

Thrust into society as the Emerald Heiress, Julia is the toast of London, a celebrated curiosity. But in reality she’s trapped between the clutches of two powerful men. Aided only by a gentleman whose intentions she prays she can trust, Julia must finally take control of her own fate—but outwitting one’s foe rarely goes according to plan.

“Who could have foreseen that in order for either of us to ever be whole again, our lives would need to be broken? And who but a master hand could have guided us safely along such a path?”

-Julia Elliston, Mark of Distinction

Characters: Even more than the first, I was impressed with Dotta’s ability to make me question nearly every character but the main. I’m sure that being privy to everything that Julia does and thinks is the only thing from making me question her motives as well. Characters who appear to be good are not always what they seem and those who are bad seem not so bad. I love the mystery shrouding characters and watching their motives slowly becoming clearer.

Storyline: This second book picks right up where the first on left off. This new stage in Julia’s life is filled with even more twists, turns, and huge changes on her life. Through the book, she wrestles with how to gain her identity and freedom, as well as an awakening starts to stir in her soul. I really enjoyed the complexity of this series that is developed even further in this book.

My Thoughts:  I can’t help but adore this series. There are moments when I want to tell the main character not to do something, all the while knowing that she doesn’t have a choice. These books are storytelling at their finest. Authentic characters, page-turning twists, mysterious motives, and a subtle but important message make this a series worth reading.

If you haven’t read the first book of this series, this novel probably won’t make too much sense. But reading the first book will certainly be worth your time.

About the Author:
Jessica Dotta has always been fascinated by the intricacies of society that existed in England from the Regency through the Edwardian era. She writes in a manner that blends past and modern fiction techniques. She lives in the Nashville area and works as a free lance media consultant and publicist. Her first novel Born of Persuasion releases in September of 2013.

6 thoughts on “Mark of Distinction by Jessica Dotta

  1. Oh, I loved the first one in this series and can’t wait to read the rest! 🙂 You nailed it – that unique way Dotta has of making us question every character except for the heroine is what draws me irresistibly toward reading the entire series.

    Like

    1. I hope you get to read the rest soon. It has been a wonderful series that I’ve been surprised how much I enjoyed it. I’m part way through the third book and I still don’t feel like I know who can be trusted 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

